Greek Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good...started with dried lentils instead of canned and it turned out great. Only thing is that it makes a LOT...we had lots of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissajean
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was a great salad, and great for my first attempt at using lentils. I did add some bell peppers and just used olive oil, vinegar + salt and pepper for the "dressing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I also added green pepper but didn't use the dressing because it gets moist enough with the cheese and tomato setting together in the fridge, especially if you use crumbled feta. It was a healthy salad for a hot summer night. Put fresh cracked pepper and garlic powder in it if it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This recipe looks and tastes great! I couldn't find canned lentils so I used a bag of dried lentils, cooked for 1/2 hr. I also forgot to get "greek" dressing so I used 2/3 cup Italian and 1/3 cup lemon juice. Turned out great and we had a ton! Using the bag of lentils we had eight cups of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TShingleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed it ! It was so easy to put together and loved just having to open 2 cans of cooked lentils. My husband suggested I add dried cranberries and slivered almonds (we got the idea from a restaurant salad) and that was a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ludwigsix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This salad was awsome!! I didn't have greek dressing so I used the oil/dressing that came with the feta. I don't know what lentils are either so I used kidney beans. This was the top recipe that came up in my feta/kidney bean search. Brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckinjapan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Adding lentils is a good idea to make a Greek salad more filling, but the texture of the lentils did not fit with the tomato and cucumber. If you do make this, finely chop the vegetables to make it easier to eat. Also, you can make the onions a bit tender by letting them soak in the vinaigrette for 30 minutes before adding them to the salad. Next time, I'll just stew some lentils and dill as a side to the Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Wonderful salad! I made this while we were on vacation and ate it at almost every meal. I love lentils, but had not found a "wow" recipe in which to use them until this one. I've made it several times since and will say that the choice of dressing really makes a difference. I'd recommend Ken's Healthy Options Olive Oil and Vinegar, or one of the other higher end dressings. I also added olives and green onions and used as a dip with pita triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I am so addicted to this stuff! I didn't use onion, added some bell pepper, and used olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper instead of Greek dressing. Also have used fresh dill, green onion...this is a really versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States