Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this and just like KerryW mentioned, it was over-the-top salty. My husband and I tried to eat it, and it was just too much salt. Next time, I'll either use 3-4 cups of water in place of chicken broth to balance out the salt when adding the chicken soup base, or i'll ditch the base all together. Otherwise, the soup came together nicely, looked just like restaurant quality, and smelled delicious. It was just too bad we had to waste so many ingredients because of the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcookerdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Sooooooo good! Tasted delicious, even the kids love it----I followed the recipe exactly, except I sauteed veggies first in butter. Cannot get enough of this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I absolutely love this soup! i have made it so many times! I don't put as much soup base in it though. I add about half or 1/4 of the soup base so its not too salty. Some think it is too lemony, but i think it is just right. This is most definitely my favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddybw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this. It was out of my comfort zone with the egg yolks, but it was actually really easy. I halved the recipe, made my own chicken stock. Subbed bell pepper for celery (since I didn't have any). We eat low salt so I just added about a teaspoon on tones chicken base. I just used one lemon, but it was very juicy. I used more White Pepper because I love it & added fresh garlic & a some fish rub seasoning that I make. I only used 2 yolks, and less of the flour butter mixture - I tend to like more of a brothy soup than a creamy one. Since I'm the only one eating it, I just added the rice to my bowl. I'll eat the rest tomorrow for lunch & add rice at that time. Really filling, different & tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This soup is so delicious. I made a couple of changes. First, I didn’t bother adding the chicken base. To get the maximum flavor from the vegetables, I sautéed them in a little butter, then mixed in the flour, and then added the chicken broth that I had heated in the microwave. The soup came out perfect. I’ll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This beats the Greek Lemon Chicken soup at my favorite local soup shop - and that's saying a lot! A couple modifications - we used all the meat from a rotisserie chicken, and made stock from the carcass; I used a lot more onion and rice, and right at the end added some chopped fresh basil. I want to eat this every day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good. I would put less lemon next time, though. It was a bit sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Amazing made and even my mom liked it- because mom's are the biggest test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'd love to give this 5 stars but as is, it is WAY too salty! The flavor is fantastic but do your heart a favor and cut back on that soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States