Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It was extremely salty and I should have read reviews first because 6 TBS of chicken base is too much. I tried to save the soup by adding like a 1/2 gallon of milk and it was still pretty salty, but at least edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was fantastic--at least as good as that which i had in my favorite greek restaurant last week. i added an entire head of minced garlic and sauteed all the vegetables to tender in olive oil before adding all the other ingredients. i did not use the soup base as i don't have it and don't use it in order to decrease the Na+. the lemon and salt flavors were just perfect. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added the rice to individual bowls of soup. Also, used cornstarch instead of flour because my husband has gluten sensitivity. Use half the amount of cornstarch as you would flour. Always substitute butter for margarine to avoid TFAs. This soup is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was a great and easy recipe! Upon reading others reviews, I added 1 cup of carrots and 1 1/2 cups of rice, and a tsp of minced garlic. I served this with homemade pita bread, my husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I used Better than Boullion low sodium organic chicken broth so it was not too salty at all - also used Real Lemon juice - skipped carrots (didn't have any) used dried chopped onion, some celery salt, orzo cooked in the water before adding the broth and left over chicken - EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy and delicious. My husband hid the leftovers for himself in the back of the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I love this soup. I made it one night when my girlfriend was sick. She loved it. Now it's a staple of our lives when we're ill or feeling down. I only use about four eggs, eight was too much cholesterol in my opinion. Kale makes a really nice addition to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I didn't car for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I cannot say enough about how yummy this soup is! I made no changes and was suitably impressed with how simple the technique is. Lovely! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Mmmm-mm! Yummy! I'm not really a fan of soups, but this one was great. I left out the soup base completely, and the flour, and I also reduced the number of egg yolks to 5. I noticed that some reviewers had trouble with the saltiness of the soup. Here's what you could do : peel a potato, cut it into large pieces and then put it in the food, letting it simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Remove the potato(es) and taste. If it's still too salty, repeat. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
amazing soup with great flavor. Will definitely make again. I only used 3 eggs and half the amount of margarine and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States