Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious! I left out the chicken broth and just used the full amount of chicken base called for. It did not lack of salt whatsoever. I left everything else the same aside from using only 4 egg yolks. I can't see how adding more egg yolks could make it any better. It was heavenly! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
A whole lot of work for an ok soup. Not impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
wow, what a great recipe. It takes some time, but it makes so much which is great cuz...I'll eat every last drop. I got stuck on eating this from Greek restaurant here in California. This restaurant has there carrots,celery,onions and chicken minces so I used my magic bullet to get that effect, I also use arborio rice which, gives it a creamer texture and a much smooth taste in your soup if you like a nice cream soup, not that this isn't already. For folks that feel that it was to salty, I say chicken base is already super salty (as are most soups) so maybe adjust it there. I used 2 different types of chicken base for my soup. Knorr and Herbox by Hormel..there super-duper-salty but, I used the amount the recipe called for and I found it a tad.. just a tad salty but still yummy. Also, I used Organic chicken broth. The only thing I will change next time I make this I will use only 6 eggs yolks cuz, I could smell the egg in the soup a bit and I'm not a fan of eggs.. but it didn't prevent me from eating it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystal_skyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mercedes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. I LOVE lemon and I love Greek food. I am THAT person who goes into a restaurant and eats the lemons straight without wincing. So when I say this was too lemoney, take that how you will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Wonderful! I had just made a pot of fresh broth, and just used that. I used orzo, instead of rice, because that's what I remember when I ate this as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I was looking for something to make with fresh lemons from my lemon tree. I had never heard of this, and it sounded good. Made the recipe as instructed (except I didn't have celery). My family loved it. Only request was more rice. I will make this again. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Turned out great. Added garlic and subbed cod for the chicken. Roasted the lemons before adding at the end with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer702
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
AMAZING! I just got done cooking this and couldn't wait to finish eating before raving. I even added a photo of it. LoL! This is my first time and the recipe was fantastic (along with some of the suggestions I read in reviews). I went with 6 eggs and added 1/4 more cup of lemon juice (to give it a lil extra zing)...definitely will do this again soon! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I Love this recipe!!! I doubled the Chicken and Rice!!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittneyfink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is my favorite soup recipe, of ALL TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States