Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
way too salty..I even put a raw potato to suck up the salt and it didnt work. We were drinking water all night. I think the chicken base combined with the chicken broth was too much. Don't know how I would try to fix, maybe try another recipe. I was dissapointed it was our "Greek" menu month. I should have read the other reviews instead of looking at just the stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I love this soup, but I leave out the chicken and add Greek meatballs with mint that I cook ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
very good soup. i would recommend making this for a sick kid to make them feel better =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This soup is fantastic. We used 4 bullion cubes instead of the soup base and orzo instead of rice. Mixing the butter and flour before adding them to the broth made the texture perfectly silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I really liked this recipe a lot. It seemed really easy to me. I used REAL lemon. If you're going to follow the measurements for lemon juice in any recipe you should use real lemon unless it says otherwise. The concentration is different. Also instead of using the soup base (I didn't have any) I used the leftover juice from my chicken because I cooked it in a crockpot. I added some greek seasoning to taste, I did not add any extra salt. I never add extra salt when using broths and greek seasoning as these are already salty enough. I also did not add vegetables. I cooked them separately and served them on the side. It was AMAZING. I'm about to eat leftovers and I never eat leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I browned the carrots, onion and celery with a little vegetable oil before adding the broth. I only used two tablespoons of the chicken base. I cooked two cups of cubed chicken in the soup. I used 5 egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
What a tummy warming soup! I did use egg beaters instead of real eggs, Used orzo that I cooked in the broth & Shredded boneless chicken thighs. Simply fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious! I left out the chicken broth and just used the full amount of chicken base called for. It did not lack of salt whatsoever. I left everything else the same aside from using only 4 egg yolks. I can't see how adding more egg yolks could make it any better. It was heavenly! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
A whole lot of work for an ok soup. Not impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
wow, what a great recipe. It takes some time, but it makes so much which is great cuz...I'll eat every last drop. I got stuck on eating this from Greek restaurant here in California. This restaurant has there carrots,celery,onions and chicken minces so I used my magic bullet to get that effect, I also use arborio rice which, gives it a creamer texture and a much smooth taste in your soup if you like a nice cream soup, not that this isn't already. For folks that feel that it was to salty, I say chicken base is already super salty (as are most soups) so maybe adjust it there. I used 2 different types of chicken base for my soup. Knorr and Herbox by Hormel..there super-duper-salty but, I used the amount the recipe called for and I found it a tad.. just a tad salty but still yummy. Also, I used Organic chicken broth. The only thing I will change next time I make this I will use only 6 eggs yolks cuz, I could smell the egg in the soup a bit and I'm not a fan of eggs.. but it didn't prevent me from eating it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystal_skyi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mercedes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States