Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I made this the other night. I gave it 4 stars because I did make a few changes to the recipe. I took the advice of a previous review about blending the soup while adding the egg yolk to it - wow, just wow. The consistency of the soup was dead on delicious. Whenever I have this soup, there are not other veggies in it so I wanted to keep close to its roots of the soup because my boyfriend is from the Mediterranean. This is how I made the soup - the only vegetables I used was garlic and onion. I sautéed the onion and garlic first, added said ingredients together and threw the cooked onion/garlic in the soup. For this particular soup, the more lemon the better. I used 8 organic lemons. I used white and black pepper. Added the butter/flour mixture into the soup and then put it in the blender. While blending the soup, I slowly added the egg yolk into it. After that, I put the soup back on the stove, heated it through (you will see a beautiful froth on top at this point). I shredded a lemon pepper rotisserie chicken, threw it in the soup. I made the orzo separately and platted it in the bowl and poured the soup right on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I loved this soup; be prepared for a very lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
way too salty..I even put a raw potato to suck up the salt and it didnt work. We were drinking water all night. I think the chicken base combined with the chicken broth was too much. Don't know how I would try to fix, maybe try another recipe. I was dissapointed it was our "Greek" menu month. I should have read the other reviews instead of looking at just the stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I love this soup, but I leave out the chicken and add Greek meatballs with mint that I cook ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
very good soup. i would recommend making this for a sick kid to make them feel better =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This soup is fantastic. We used 4 bullion cubes instead of the soup base and orzo instead of rice. Mixing the butter and flour before adding them to the broth made the texture perfectly silky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I really liked this recipe a lot. It seemed really easy to me. I used REAL lemon. If you're going to follow the measurements for lemon juice in any recipe you should use real lemon unless it says otherwise. The concentration is different. Also instead of using the soup base (I didn't have any) I used the leftover juice from my chicken because I cooked it in a crockpot. I added some greek seasoning to taste, I did not add any extra salt. I never add extra salt when using broths and greek seasoning as these are already salty enough. I also did not add vegetables. I cooked them separately and served them on the side. It was AMAZING. I'm about to eat leftovers and I never eat leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I browned the carrots, onion and celery with a little vegetable oil before adding the broth. I only used two tablespoons of the chicken base. I cooked two cups of cubed chicken in the soup. I used 5 egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
What a tummy warming soup! I did use egg beaters instead of real eggs, Used orzo that I cooked in the broth & Shredded boneless chicken thighs. Simply fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious! I left out the chicken broth and just used the full amount of chicken base called for. It did not lack of salt whatsoever. I left everything else the same aside from using only 4 egg yolks. I can't see how adding more egg yolks could make it any better. It was heavenly! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States