Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Darnit, second time I've done this to an otherwise perfectly good batch. It must be noted that you pour the yolk VERY slowly into the soup, otherwise you get an egg drop soup consistency. This should be emphasized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just finished making this recipe and I will never go back to regular chicken soup!! I did modify it a bit... only 5 egg yolks and didnt add all of butter and flour mixture. I also used "no salt added" chicken broth and cooked my rice in chicken broth plus added garlic....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamaewest
Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is the best recipe I have ever found for Greek Lemon Chicken Soup! Delicious!!! It turned thick and hearty. Perfect! I am very grateful for all the modification tips and tricks. Like most, I only put in 4 egg yolks, sautéed the veggies and rice in evvo, and omitted the soup base for 3 bouillon cubes. I make my own stock for the first time using a whole chicken and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
After reading reviews I also, cut back to 6 yolks and on the soup base and used the juices from my baked chicken instead, added more rice, we like it more hearty and unlike others, I added more pepper and lemon, my big fat Greek family loves lemon! Not my Mother's Avgolemono but it passed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Different and yummy. Doubled this recipe but added 3 cups total rice straight to broth and only used 5 egg yolks. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This might be my favorite soup recipe. I have made it many times and sometimes I don't have fresh lemon juice, but bottled juice doesn't seem to change it much. Also, I only use 4 egg yolks & it is definitely rich enough for me. This tastes just as good as any soup you would get in a greek restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used cous cous instead of rice. I also scratch made the broth from the chicken I baked for it. I added fresh garlic and in addition to the lemon juice I added lemon slices while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. It came out perfect It's actually the second time I used this recipe. My family loved it so much the first time I made that they've been asking me to make it all summer long. I love and normally make hot soup during Winter Season and love and make chilled soup such as (butternut squash and apple) during the summer; but Im glad I made it despised the hot weather, it was delicious and my family's bellies were contempt. I did however make a small modification. I used corn starch instead of all purpose flour, orzo pasta instead of rice, 3 large Garlic cloves because I didn't have anymore flour, my 2 year old loves orzo pasta and we just love garlic.:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe ! I rarely make soup but I definitely will with this one. Followed the advice of reviewers and reduced the egg yolks to 4. I did add other seasonings though just to be a little creative. I added Herb de Provence, Dill, Tarragon and a little Thyme. This is the type of recipe where anything goes. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States