Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So glad I tried this recipe! It's an excellent way to liven up your basic chicken soup. I did do a some small things differently: instead of using "soup base", I cooked a whole chicken in water for several hours. Once it was done, I removed the chicken and deboned it, adding all the vegetables and shredded chicken to the broth. I then added a heaping teaspoon of salt, plenty of black pepper, and minced garlic. (All "soup base" consists of is salt, chicken fat, and a few seasonings. So much better to do it naturally.) Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. The lemon gives it such a perfect kick of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I did what a couple reviewers suggested and used fresh chicken stock as well as just a couple tablespoons of the bouillion but it was still gross. It wasn't the saltiness I had a problem with, it was the lemon juice. I did not put in the whole amount at first so i could taste and then add the rest. Even putting in the little bit that I did made this soup sour and very unpleasant. Not sure why anyone considers sour soup to be good but to each his own. The eggs added nothing good either and when I took the soup out of the fridge the next day it has some sort of froth on the top that was very unappetizing and stinky. I am very careful with my food so I know it wasn't bad, just stinky. I will steer clear of any soups with lemon juice or egg yolks. I do have a recipe for baked greek chicken that calls for lemon juice and it is wonderful. But I will leave the soup recipe out of my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy! This was delish! I am adding this recipe to my favorites. The changes I made are as follows I used only 1 1/2 Tablespoons of chicken base, and this was plenty. (I made this a couple of years ago with 6 Tblsp and it was waaay to much!) I used 6 eggyolks, but should have used 8 because we had to thicken it up with cornstarch a bit. Five of us licked the pot clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
We ate this as our main course with toasted pita bread---really nice on a cool day. I added one teaspoon of jarred garlic, skipped the celery. It was creamy and thick and lemony. A little different from my usual chicken soup but I will definitly make it again. I used leftover roasted chicken breasts and homemade chicken broth from my freezer. Since we keep chickens, I always have extra eggs. It was an economical dish for us. Instead of rice I served the soup over Israeli couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
We really liked this. I used a red onion because I was out of white, but I doubt that made a difference; I also used low-sodium broth and reduced-sodium chicken base, and can't imagine doing it any other way as the results were plenty salty. (I was actually a bit concerned about the salt level after the first tasting, but in the finished soup, the egg yolks and the lemon juice go a long way toward mellowing out the saltiness.) The lemon and the chicken, combined with the egg yolks, make for a hearty but somehow light meal. I know other people complained about it being too thick, but that wasn't a problem for us; maybe because my egg yolks were on the small side. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was the chicken base, which was definitely a dominating flavor. It was by no means a bad thing, but I'd love to find a recipe that resulted the same depth of flavor without resorting to using such large quantities of such a processed ingredient. I'm not above using a bouillon cube or two, but six tablespoons was almost 2/3 of the jar I used, and . . . it just seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was some of the best soup I've ever had. I cheated a little b/c I didn't have 40 mins or the celery and onions on hand. I used a can of Chicken and rice soup (already has carrots, celery, and onions in it). I ended up cooking up my own chicken to put into it. I used some poultry seasoning and EVOO on the chicken while I was frying it in a pan. I still used chicken broth(sodium free), margarine, flour, egg, lemon juice and followed the directions. Next time I plan on adding a lot more carrots and celery. As it stands now this only took me 20 mins to make from prep to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Decided to make this as a main meal for dinner last night. I was hoping there would be chicken soup base in the cupboard but there wasn't so just left it out :-) I think you need to have the base to thicken it up a little. When I make it again I will double the vegetables and the chicken, and might cut down on the lemon juice. It turned out alright but think It will be better second time round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A little less lemon, says Soleil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I changed it up slightly. Replaced the margarine with butter and added 2 cloves of garlic...it was delicious...eveyone loved it..no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I use a recipe very similar to this, but I use orzo instead of rice (more authentic). It's outstanding. You will never want to eat any other type of chicken soup again. Serve this with a full bodied greek salad, and *wow* you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 171-180 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States