Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and only made a few changes. I used butter instead of margarine, orzo instead of rice, and turkey instead of chicken. May not be necessary but, I sauted the onion and celery to get rid of the crunch before adding to the soup base. Absolutely loved this recipe. The blending of flavors is perfect. This will be added to my recipe box as a favorite. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was an absolutely yummy soup. A rendition of chicken rice soup, but better. I highly recommend not keeping lemons in for too long, as they make the soup bitter from the rind. I added 1 tsp. of Greek seasoning as others suggested and it gave it a nice kick. Also used instant rice to have it sooner. I will make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Really enjoyed this soup! Even my kids, ages 10 and 12, liked it. I cut the recipe in half thinking 16 serving was going to be too much, but it just made 4 bowls of soup. Next time I won't half it. I scooped the rice in the soup bowls first and then added the soup. I also doubled the veggies and chicken and reduced the yolks to two (I halved the recipe). I also used only half of the amount of chicken soup base (bouillon). Make sure you use low sodium chicken broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great recipe! Pita bread for dipping is a good idea and I added a few dashes of cayenne but I'm a little on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!! My husband was very skeptical when I told him what was for supper the night I made this! This was so good!!! It has been added to my recipe box and will be a permanent addition. I thought it had a perfect blend of salt and a great lemon flavor without being overwhelming. Definitely make pita bread to go with it for dipping! If I would change anything, I may add a bit more rice and I might even double the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymbersMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is better than the soup we get at an authentic greek restaurant we go to in a city with a large greek population! My husband absolutely loved it; it was very lemony flavored but we really liked the flavor If you prefer less lemon just add less lemon I did use greek roasted lemon chicken to add to it which itself was delicious too and I added more rice to thicken the soup a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was fabulous...very hearty..I seared chicken tenders and cooked them with the dish deglazeing the pan before adding water for stock...I agree about adding the rice later though..it does tend to get a bit mushy while sitting..I would say cook the rice in a chicken stock for the same flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Excellent fresh taste. Love the lemon. I used homemade turkey broth and turkey (leftover from Thanksgiving). Didn't add the soup base (too many nasty ingredients in those), used orzo instead of rice, added a touch of oregano and lots of fresh spinach. I only used 6 egg yolks and omitted the flour and butter and it was plenty thick and rich enough and much more healthy! Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Everyone loved this, I will definitely make it again. I doubled all of the veggies, making it a big more hardy but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So glad I tried this recipe! It's an excellent way to liven up your basic chicken soup. I did do a some small things differently: instead of using "soup base", I cooked a whole chicken in water for several hours. Once it was done, I removed the chicken and deboned it, adding all the vegetables and shredded chicken to the broth. I then added a heaping teaspoon of salt, plenty of black pepper, and minced garlic. (All "soup base" consists of is salt, chicken fat, and a few seasonings. So much better to do it naturally.) Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. The lemon gives it such a perfect kick of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States