Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is better than the soup we get at an authentic greek restaurant we go to in a city with a large greek population! My husband absolutely loved it; it was very lemony flavored but we really liked the flavor If you prefer less lemon just add less lemon I did use greek roasted lemon chicken to add to it which itself was delicious too and I added more rice to thicken the soup a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was fabulous...very hearty..I seared chicken tenders and cooked them with the dish deglazeing the pan before adding water for stock...I agree about adding the rice later though..it does tend to get a bit mushy while sitting..I would say cook the rice in a chicken stock for the same flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Excellent fresh taste. Love the lemon. I used homemade turkey broth and turkey (leftover from Thanksgiving). Didn't add the soup base (too many nasty ingredients in those), used orzo instead of rice, added a touch of oregano and lots of fresh spinach. I only used 6 egg yolks and omitted the flour and butter and it was plenty thick and rich enough and much more healthy! Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Everyone loved this, I will definitely make it again. I doubled all of the veggies, making it a big more hardy but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
So glad I tried this recipe! It's an excellent way to liven up your basic chicken soup. I did do a some small things differently: instead of using "soup base", I cooked a whole chicken in water for several hours. Once it was done, I removed the chicken and deboned it, adding all the vegetables and shredded chicken to the broth. I then added a heaping teaspoon of salt, plenty of black pepper, and minced garlic. (All "soup base" consists of is salt, chicken fat, and a few seasonings. So much better to do it naturally.) Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. The lemon gives it such a perfect kick of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I did what a couple reviewers suggested and used fresh chicken stock as well as just a couple tablespoons of the bouillion but it was still gross. It wasn't the saltiness I had a problem with, it was the lemon juice. I did not put in the whole amount at first so i could taste and then add the rest. Even putting in the little bit that I did made this soup sour and very unpleasant. Not sure why anyone considers sour soup to be good but to each his own. The eggs added nothing good either and when I took the soup out of the fridge the next day it has some sort of froth on the top that was very unappetizing and stinky. I am very careful with my food so I know it wasn't bad, just stinky. I will steer clear of any soups with lemon juice or egg yolks. I do have a recipe for baked greek chicken that calls for lemon juice and it is wonderful. But I will leave the soup recipe out of my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy! This was delish! I am adding this recipe to my favorites. The changes I made are as follows I used only 1 1/2 Tablespoons of chicken base, and this was plenty. (I made this a couple of years ago with 6 Tblsp and it was waaay to much!) I used 6 eggyolks, but should have used 8 because we had to thicken it up with cornstarch a bit. Five of us licked the pot clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
We ate this as our main course with toasted pita bread---really nice on a cool day. I added one teaspoon of jarred garlic, skipped the celery. It was creamy and thick and lemony. A little different from my usual chicken soup but I will definitly make it again. I used leftover roasted chicken breasts and homemade chicken broth from my freezer. Since we keep chickens, I always have extra eggs. It was an economical dish for us. Instead of rice I served the soup over Israeli couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
We really liked this. I used a red onion because I was out of white, but I doubt that made a difference; I also used low-sodium broth and reduced-sodium chicken base, and can't imagine doing it any other way as the results were plenty salty. (I was actually a bit concerned about the salt level after the first tasting, but in the finished soup, the egg yolks and the lemon juice go a long way toward mellowing out the saltiness.) The lemon and the chicken, combined with the egg yolks, make for a hearty but somehow light meal. I know other people complained about it being too thick, but that wasn't a problem for us; maybe because my egg yolks were on the small side. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was the chicken base, which was definitely a dominating flavor. It was by no means a bad thing, but I'd love to find a recipe that resulted the same depth of flavor without resorting to using such large quantities of such a processed ingredient. I'm not above using a bouillon cube or two, but six tablespoons was almost 2/3 of the jar I used, and . . . it just seemed like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was some of the best soup I've ever had. I cheated a little b/c I didn't have 40 mins or the celery and onions on hand. I used a can of Chicken and rice soup (already has carrots, celery, and onions in it). I ended up cooking up my own chicken to put into it. I used some poultry seasoning and EVOO on the chicken while I was frying it in a pan. I still used chicken broth(sodium free), margarine, flour, egg, lemon juice and followed the directions. Next time I plan on adding a lot more carrots and celery. As it stands now this only took me 20 mins to make from prep to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States