Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I used this recipe for Greek Day at my brother's school. His teachers and 6th grade classmates loved the soup. The only thing bad about it was- no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the egg yolks to 4 and the chicken soup base to 3 T. The consistency of the soup was right on. However, there was a very unpleasant undertaste of some sort that was just terrible and ruined the soup for me. It is difficult to describe, but it must have been the chicken granules because I used good cartons of chicken broth. I couldnt even really eat the soup because of the weird taste and I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I simplify this recipe and don't add the onion or carrots for a quick lunch, especially if I have guests over. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Really really good! My 17 yr old picky eater gobbled it up...my Dad(who swears nobody cooks very good) ate 2 bowls. Thanks Shelly Ross, this is a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I liked this! Used white rice but would have preferred orzo. I made the changes suggested - 4 cups broth, 4 cups water. eliminate soup base, butter and flour and add 1 can cream of chicken soup. 4 egg yolks. Add 2 tsp Greek spice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A little too much lemon for me as written. I will try to make this one again. I do have to say that the leftovers are not as good as it is the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but I couldn't even finish my bowl. It tasted too egg-y to me even though I did my best to temper it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this was very good. i cut the eggs in half (4 yolks instead of 8), used only 2 tablespoons of chicken stock (would have been entirely too salty otherwise without low sodium stock), 2 tbsp of margarine and 2 tbsp of flour mixed with a bit of the soup broth as the thickener, boiled a whole chicken and used the broth from that, used the boiled chicken in the soup, put rice in the bowls before adding the soup so as to not end up with rice mush, all as per other users suggestions. i didnt find the soup too lemony or salty. i did use a bit more celery and carrots than the recipe called for, it was perfect. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good. I did this recipe exactly as stated. I liked the creamy egg flavor of the soup, very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I just finished making this and I was VERY excited to make it because I love lemon. Plus there is a Greek Restaurant near by and I wanted to replicate the soup. It was WAY TOO LEMONY and SALTY and I love lemon and salt. Somewhat disappointed, not sure what to do next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States