Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a fantastic soup! Thick, but not heavy - just delicious. I only used 6 eggs, and I put uncooked rice and chicken in the pot with some lemon olive oil prior to adding the base and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wa easy to make and wonderful! All 16 guests loved it. Substituted bouillion for soup base, as I did not have. It was yummy and simple. Prepared the ingredients in advance to cut down prep time. Sincerely, Soup Girl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I was hoping for a rich, thick soup, but this soup turned out more like a chicken broth with a lemony flavor. The flavor wasn't quite right compared to other lemon rice soup I have had. I followed other's suggestions to reduce the soup base and used 3 tbsp and my husband said it needed more salt. I would have liked it with more of the rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I used this recipe for Greek Day at my brother's school. His teachers and 6th grade classmates loved the soup. The only thing bad about it was- no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the egg yolks to 4 and the chicken soup base to 3 T. The consistency of the soup was right on. However, there was a very unpleasant undertaste of some sort that was just terrible and ruined the soup for me. It is difficult to describe, but it must have been the chicken granules because I used good cartons of chicken broth. I couldnt even really eat the soup because of the weird taste and I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I simplify this recipe and don't add the onion or carrots for a quick lunch, especially if I have guests over. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Really really good! My 17 yr old picky eater gobbled it up...my Dad(who swears nobody cooks very good) ate 2 bowls. Thanks Shelly Ross, this is a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I liked this! Used white rice but would have preferred orzo. I made the changes suggested - 4 cups broth, 4 cups water. eliminate soup base, butter and flour and add 1 can cream of chicken soup. 4 egg yolks. Add 2 tsp Greek spice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A little too much lemon for me as written. I will try to make this one again. I do have to say that the leftovers are not as good as it is the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but I couldn't even finish my bowl. It tasted too egg-y to me even though I did my best to temper it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States