Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
We all loved it!! I kind of winged it using the scaled down version for our family of 3. Thank you to the poster we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made a few alterations but will still give this recipe 5 stars, as I feel all recipes are merely guidelines. I used half the recipe, homemade chicken stock, and sauteed 1/3 cup of each veggies plus a clove of garlic along with 3 oz each of raw rice and orzo in olive oil butter combo. The raw rice and orzo eliminates the need for the roux, and the rice, as at my Greek restaurant, is soft. I used 1 cup chicken and 3 egg yolks and I had no chicken base on hand, but it tasted good without it and I am sure it would taste more chickeny with it. Very easy and tasty, thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal. In order to make this a little healthier, I used half the amount of eggs and chicken soup base, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. PHENOMENAL. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This definitely needs less base. I used homemade (no salt) chicken broth and only 4 Tbsp of base, and it was still almost too salty for us. Next time I'll use 3, and if you're using commercial stock, I'd recommend using 2 and then tasting for seasoning. I used the juice of one whole lemon, plus the zest of half the lemon and it was perfect for our tastes. I didn't have leftover chicken, so I just poached a chicken breast in the broth while the vegetables were simmering for the 20 minutes. I precooked orzo pasta for this batch, but I think next time I will just add it uncooked a few minutes after I add the butter/flour mixture, to make this a true one pot meal. I kept everything else the same, and although it was a touch salty, we absolutely loved it. With a little less soup base, this is an easy 5 stars. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe turned out really well with simple uncooked chicken that eventually makes it's own broth and adds a real chicken flavor, this way u can avoid processed bases that make it too salty, I added the chicken at the begining and didn't need chicken broth or base, just some salt later on. I would next time try only 4 eggs for a healthier version, even though I do love the richness and consistency I ended up with, also I liked the idea to add the rice in later for better leftover serving. All
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was easy to make vegetarian and also easy to simplify for weeknights. I made a half batch, used vegetable broth, 1 tablespoon of a vegetarian soup base (but I really think it's optional), skipped the chicken meat and also skipped the slices of lemon. I reduced the egg yolks from 4 to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolana111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We had this soup once in our local greek resturaunt and loved it. I've been hoping I could find a similar recipe and was thrilled to find this variation which I love even more. I varied the recipe a bit by reducing the soup base to 4T and also added an extra 1/4c. each of the vegetables to make the soup a bit heartier. The recipe recieved 5 stars all around from my entire family of picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I left the chicken out (because I didn't have any) and used 6 egg yolks. If you love lemons this soup is Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
YUM! This is a delicious, velvety soup. I used a rotisserie chicken and followed everyone's advice and only used 4 egg yolks. I also didn't use quite as much lemon juice or the soup base as called for. I did add a clove of garlic. This was so easy and so delicious. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States