Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. However I'm not a fan of the egg so I leave it out. It's definitely better than plain old chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent soup. This is one of my favorites. I added more chicken, chopped spinach and instead of rice, Shirataki (tofu) noodles. It made it more of a complete meal with more protein and vegetables. I was afraid of tempering the egg, but it worked perfectly. I did use only 4 eggs and that really tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriana mooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent choice for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great chicken soup recipe! My family gobbled it up! My changes: added 2 tsp Greek seasoning to the lemon base; and I used orzo instead of rice. This one is a keeper! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have been buying a frozen version of this soup at Costco and I am thrilled to have found a reciptew to make it fresh and freeze myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This soup hit the spot and is great when you have to feed a family who is suffering with colds. I added a cup of orzo instead of rice and used half the eggyolks. I made the roux with butter instead of margarine because that's what I had. We used fresh lemons and parsley from our yard. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made some adjustments to this recipe: omitted carrots and celery, used 3 T of chicken base instead of 6 T (and it was still pretty salty), used black pepper instead of white, butter instead of margarine, orzo instead of white rice, and 4 egg yolks instead of 8, and did not use the 16 slices of lemon. I noticed that 1 cup of orzo was not at all enough. Next time I will add at least 2 times the amount listed in this recipe. The soup is delicious, my husband loved it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Can't decide whether to give it a three. It is way too lemony and salty, I should have started with less and added more after tasting. I still feel it needs more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I love Greek food. I've made this soup twice only. Loved it both times. My husband doesn't like creamy soups at all. I had a very hard time convincing him of the fact that the soup is a flour base soup with lemon. No cream. He liked it once he tried it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good recipe, although, a little too "lemony" for my hubby. I added zucchini slices and sliced rather than shredded carrot. Halved the butter and flour, and used couscous since I didn't have orzo on hand...just halved the amount since the couscous swells a bit when it cooks. Enjoyed it myself though, and it was good for the kids since they're fighting colds! Might try it again in the summer as a light side soup. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States