Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Definitely would make again. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I didn't have chicken base on hand, so used chicken bouillon granules - this made it too salty, so I added more liquid, more rice and chicken. I think the lemon makes it seem salty too. It was very good and I will make it again with the correct chicken base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vickie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I just finished my bowl of this restaurant quality soup. My husband, who is half greek, declared this the best lemon chicken soup he's ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for such a delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
What a great recipe! I have had this soup several times a restaurants and was happy to find a great version to make at home. While the flavor was a big hit, I am only scoring it 4 because the prep is a big pain. Lots of steps, lots of mixing bowls involved. I have made it a few times. Unlike SOME users, my rating is for the actual recipe. I have made it a few more times with a few tweaks listed below. Alternative suggestions - Orzo instead of rice Doubling veggies Lessening or omitting soup base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this for dinner tonite and it was so good. Started it in crockpot overnite on low to cook the vegetables and the chicken (which I added cubed and uncooked to the crockpot). After work, I took it out of the fridge and heated the soup on the stove and added the roux and the 4 egg yolks as recommended by many reviewers. I also used only 2.5 tbs chicken boullion granules. I cooked and added orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I thought this was an excellent soup! I did only use half the amount of lemon juice and would probably add more chicken and rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe needs dill. It's not Greek without out it. That's a big omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Love this soup! I make a lot of soups but this is my fav. A few changes...I saute the veggies before adding the broth. I only use 4 egg yokes and make sure the small amount of soup has cooled a bit before adding to the eggs. I use brown rice (already cooked in bag) and use 1 1/2 Cup of chopped rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. And,I add a little white wine at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
BOth my kids (5 years old and 3 years old) have a cold and this soup is the best for it. Soothes the throat and fills their bellies. My daughter is still slurping it down as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States