Greek Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jsvalen
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The cake was delicious. it was a bit dense. I frosted and filled it with lemon filling, which was amazing. I also cut back a little on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Really good lemon cake! Not too sweet. Halved the recipe and made 12 perfect cupcakes (17 minutes to bake), but used the full amount of lemon juice and lemon zest with some meyer lemons we got. I also used vanilla yogurt and would continue to use a sweetened yogurt in this recipe. I would use more lemon zest next time and maybe more juice for a stronger lemon flavor. The batter looked dense when I was scooping into the cupcake tin but they are fluffy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Sparrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was really good! Tasted so light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We made this for New Years Eve this year and it turned out pretty good, was a bit heavy and rich but everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Muchetti
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this cake with my nephew for his birthday. He wanted a strawberry lemonade cake so I double up on the zest and lemon juice (we incorporated the strawberry in the frosting.) The texture and flavor of the cake were exactly what we were looking for. Not heavy but not too airy either. I usually use sour cream to keep my cakes moist but used plain Greek yogurt for this and was very pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good but seemed like a lot of extra trouble for what comes out like a pound cake. I would have liked it to be lighter and fluffier. Used lemon zest and juice as directed but it needed some added lemon extract for a more lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I tripled both zest and juice and replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce and found the cake okay. It was too heavy and very bland. Not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Perfect "disappear in your mouth" cake. Fresh lemons were not overbearing. I didn't have fresh lemons. So, I used lemon juice and 1 Tbsp of lemon extract. I topped it off with dried poppy seed. Oh so nice! I do admit its a tad bit labor intensive but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Thimbles

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is my new favorite cake! I added a lemon glaze and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I intented to change nothing from the given recipe BUT it happenned that I missed the yoghurt ! oops ! ;-) Good news was the cake was still very good. Being a lemon lover and coming back from holidays with wonderful lemons fresh from the tree, I just put 2 of them, skin, pulp and juice into my food processor and found the resulting pulp was replacing at the best the zest and juice proportions : a wonderful tip if you have fresh organic fruits available ! I'm planning to do it again with a light white chocolate cover and candies decoration for a girlie party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States