Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
AMAZING! I used honey instead of the white sugar and instead of milk, I just added a few large dollops of Greek Yogurt. I also skipped the orange flavor and went with all lemon. I squeezed a whole lemon in there as well as the lemon zest I could scrape off. For the topping, I did only the honey with a bit of water to burn off and again, more lemon juice. I only poured on 1/3rd as other readers said to watch the portioning. I jarred the rest and put on the table for others to add as they liked. I also topped it with some lemon zest and served it with a bit of Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very nice! I am not too fond of baklava because I find it too sweet--I can only handle one bite. I was worried that this one would also be too sweet. To my surprise, it was just sweet enough. Unfortunately, it is not the prettiest cake. But it is so tasty, that it makes up for its lack luster. Everyone at my party was surprised about the rich favors that were not overbearing. People were asking to take leftovers home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My friend was born in a small village in Greece.I made this for him as a surprise...said it was just like his mama's.Needless to say he was very happy.Thank you for this authentic recipe which I followed the exact recipe.Yes,it was almost juicy with the very sweet honey lemon sauce...this is a true replication of authentic Greek cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is an excellent cake reminiscent of the Greek cookie finikia/melomakarona, but MUCH easier to prepare! I adore the orange/cinnamon combination and will have to control myself from eating the rest of the cake on my own. This was our dessert for tonight as it is Greek Easter and I wanted to make something special for my family. I halved the syrup which was good, but I think more will be even better next time. This recipe will become part of my regular dessert rotation--thank you for sharing it! Kalo Pascha--Hristos Anestei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delicious. Followed the recipe to the letter except for the soaking syrup. Based on everyone's comments, I made half the recipe and found it to be plenty. Moist, sweet cake with a subtle orange flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recipe with Quinoa flour instead of all purpose and it came out great! I cut the cooking time down to 30 minutes because I wasn't sure how the quinoa flour would work for baking time--it was clearly done in 29 minutes. I cut the cake up in the pan and poured the syrup over the cake and served it driectly from the pan. Using quinoa flour makes the cake gluten free and healthier than if I used white flour. I also used half the syrup per other suggestions and it's fine. Made it for a Greek-themed dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
i shared this with friends and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this cake for a Greek-food dinner party, and everyone loved it. None of us had ever had it before, or heard of Karithopeta. The only thing I changed a little was to use a half cup sugar and half cup water in the glaze. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My wife just raved about this recipe! As suggested by others, I cut the honey syrup in half. Next time I will make the full amount of syrup, pierce the cake with a fork and then pour the syrup over it. I particularly liked the hint orange flavoring in the cake. Next time I think I will increase the amount of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States