Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Great alternative dessert to a greek meal when you don't have time for Baklava
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This was great! I served it for my book club and it was a huge hit. I omitted the nuts and it was still good. Tastes like baklava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
All the flavors of baklava, with far less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I love this easy to make cake that I found here on this website. The first time I made it my husband said it tasted just like the cake him mother used to make! What better compliment? (His mother was an outstanding greek cook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Wasn't sure if I had done it right with the puddling of honey at the bottom but a Greek woman where I work said it's exactly how it's suppose to be. I cut it into thin slice (any bigger is too much) and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYBERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was very good. I'm not an experienced sugar/water syrupy type of cook, so I would have liked to know if I made my syrup right. It could have been thicker, and taste like honey more, but it was still an excellent cake. I don't expect the leftovers to hang around very long. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was an excellent and easy cake recipe. I added some vanilla extract in addition to the orange zest. Since different family members like various degrees of sweetness, I spooned 1/4 of the honey syrup onto the warm cake. Once I was ready to serve, a put the rest over syrup in a gravy boat and people added however much more they wanted. I would recommend using orange blossom honey if you can find it; it helped bring out the orange-y perfume of the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was easy! I increased the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp. The flavors remind me of baklava. The syrup was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time, I might reduce the amount of honey and sugar in half. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by KAGAMOI
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very tasty! Would be great for brunch as it is a sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAGAMOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I cut the honey syrup in half like suggested, otherwise did not change anything. My sons say, "Honey Cakes Rule!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States