Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I've made this cake on several occasions and it was a hit each time. My only recommendation is to spare the honey dressing - if you use all that is recommended, you'll end up with honey soup with cake in it. I typically use about half of what is prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
excellent quick cake .. just used fresh honey and and lemon juice for syrup.. dont like to boil honey, and cuts down sweetness by a cup off sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was easy! I increased the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp. The flavors remind me of baklava. The syrup was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time, I might reduce the amount of honey and sugar in half. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I love this easy to make cake that I found here on this website. The first time I made it my husband said it tasted just like the cake him mother used to make! What better compliment? (His mother was an outstanding greek cook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amanda04
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this came out just as amazing as I thought it would! I added lemon zest instead of orange. I cut the syrup recipe by half and I used mostly honey and about a quarter of the white sugar. Added like 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice to the syrup and it is just amazing!!!!! I used a round pan and it looks just like the main picture :) this will be made OFTEN!!! I just ate 4 pieces!! ***** This is an update!! this third time making this I decided to use honey instead of the sugar in the cake itself since the name is Honey Cake, not granulated sugar cake... it was so moist from this that I didn't need to add the milk. For the syrup I used about a cup of honey with like 5 tablespoons (a splash) of orange juice and one tablespoon of sugar and it is so good!! the best one yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I brought this to a Greek themed dinner. It was abig hit and easy to make. I only had a 1/2 cup of honey so I halved the syrup. I think it would have been way too sweet with the whole recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This was great! I served it for my book club and it was a huge hit. I omitted the nuts and it was still good. Tastes like baklava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I'm a tough grader -especially on desserts -but this was very good. My parents and I just returned from a trip to Greece, so I decided to do a Greek dinner; my parents loved it. Also, we thought it was better once cooled and great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was a good cake and I enjoyed the simplicity, but probably won't resort to this again as a substitute for baklava. I used whole wheat flour and pecans and added a splash of vanilla extract to the eggs since I didn't have the orange zest. The cake was moist and had good flavor. Nice to make when you don't have much time. Thanks for sharing Jan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this for a greek dinner party I was giving. This was such an easy recipe and tasted so wonderful. There was not a crumb left after the dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States