Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this came out well, but was more a way to use up some honey and walnuts. it was tasty, but not spectacular. i also halved the syrup recipe; my husband ate his cake without it anyway. i might make this again for a greek-themed meal, but probably not just for pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
We really like this cake. Served it at the end of a Greek meal and it was perfect. Used only half the amount of honey syrup, as other reviewers suggested, and that was the perfect amount. I like this much better than baklava, and will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
It was terrible! first of all it is definetly not moist. it was hard and strangly stiky when it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Love this cake! Deliciously moist texture that melts in your mouth with a nutty bite. Doubled the recipe; added walnuts, almonds, lemon zest, orange juice to the batter and used an excellent syrup from a baklava recipe that I drizzled over the 10x15x1" cake pan after cutting it into diamond shapes. Even better the next day; the cake soaked up the syrup and we were addicted! Better than most coffee cakes--can be used to deliver almost any berries. Awesome RUMOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Yummy! Yummy! This cake was so good. It was moist, rich and fluffy! I made it exactly to the recipe, it was easy, fast and yummy. Even the clean-up was easy. The only problem I had was trying not to eat too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very yummy! perfect for the occasion (greek dinner party). I took the suggestion to double the orange zest and halve the honey sauce. It was great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I'd give this a higher rating, but I had to make a few changes. I increased the orange zest to 1 tablespoon, doubled the cinnamon and added 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg. I also halved the syrup(the full amount would have been way too much) and added 1 teaspoon of lemon zest. The cake only needed 30 min in my oven, not 40. With these changes and how easy it is to make I'll be making this cake frequently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Made this for a Greek-themed dinner and it was a big hit. Absolutely delicious and the only change I made was using orange zest from a jar rather than fresh. They really do taste like baklava and are easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I made this rich cake at Easter for my family. It was dense and super moist and incredibly delicious. One small slice was the perfect serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour, halved the syrup, and used smart balance 50/50 butter blend. The only thing I didn't like was that there really wasn't an orange or lemon flavor. I think I'll use OJ instead of water and cut down some of the sugar for the syrup next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States