Greek Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by AJ
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
It came out so good looking I had to try not eating it! After reading the reviews I decided to put some of the honey syrup in a container just in case someone wanted their's sweeter, I tell ya its mighty sweet with all that honey and sugar, don't be worry about puddles in the cake, the cake will soak up the honey syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! Really simple and wonderfully moist. I have to echo previous criticisms about the honey sauce, you need less than half what the recipe calls for, but the cake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Truly delicious! Really does remind me of baklava except this is so much easier to make. Because of a walnut allergy, I use pecans that I bake about five minutes as the oven is warming up and then chop. I use an 8x11 1/2" glass cake pan which results in a height similar to baklava, so the pieces nicely soak up the honey syrup of which I use about 3/4 of the syrup recipe (with a bit more fresh lemon juice to cut the sweetness perfectly). The rest of the syrup goes into a little pitcher for anyone who wants extra. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Lovely and easy. I did not use the sugar in the syrup and replaced the water with a 50/50 mixture of fresh orange and lemon juice. I served the cake with natural Greek yoghurt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Easy, tasty, and not too sweet, this cake was a hit at a work celebration. I used only half of the honey syrup, as many reviewers recommended, and I think it had the right amount of sweetness. I'm not a big fan of honey, so I gave this a four out of five, but it was a hit with co-workers. You can use your lemon to make a zest garnish, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Cooking time reduced to 25 minutes. After reading several other reviews, I halved the honey glaze as well (1/2c honey, 1/2c sugar, 1/2c water, tsp lemon juice). Turned out delicious, even my 4 year old who won't eat ANYTHING loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very moist cake, but I put the walnuts in the processor and pulse them. It sure tasted like the baklava I had at the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this cake lastnight and boy is it ever delicious...however I will cut down on the syrup, but then again it was fantastic, my husband loved it! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not bad. It's certainly easy to make, and if you let the syrup soak in without freaking out (I almost did! It just sort of puddled at first!), it just soaks into the cake and makes it sweet. I see where people are coming up with the comparison to baklava--yes, the honey part does sort of remind me of it, but it's certainly not the same thing in terms of texture. The cake is slightly dry and not the texture of baklava at all. For all that, though, I kind of like it. I halved the syrup and am very glad I did. It might have all soaked in, it might not have, but it is just the right amount of honey sweetness for me (I don't have much of a sweet tooth). It also doesn't make a lot, which is convenient to just try it out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Lovely cake. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States