Greek Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Great flavor, simple to make. My 10 yr. old Great Granddaughter loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Best. Beans. Ever. Never been a fan of beans, but these were amazing! I halved the recipe and used 2 cans of cut green beans and a can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano. Based on other comments, I cut the olive oil by 1/3 and doubled the garlic. And instead of the salt, I used 1 tsp. of the spice mixture left over from the Roasted Greek Chicken from this site (equal parts of dried oregano, dried basil, garlic powder, salt, and ground black pepper). I think this will be my go-to dish for my next pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These are the best Greek Green Beans (Fasolakia). The secret is to give them plenty of time to simmer to really fuse the flavors. I cook them for at least 60 minutes. I used i large onion (diced), a bit more garlic (3 cloves, diced) and 1 can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. A good tip is to add a good glug (maybe 1/3 cup or so) of red wine the last 20 minutes of simmering. I serve them with roasted lamb from the grill and crispy oven roasted potato wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this tonight using canned green beans and it was excellent. I can't wait to try it with fresh green beans when they are in season. While I didn't use all the olive oil in the recipe, since I was using canned beans, what I did put in really did make a delicious 'sauce' once everything was assembled. Too bad I won't have any left to see what it tastes like the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
These were perfect, and very easy! I've pestered my Greek in-laws for years for their recipe but they don't have one written down and I never seem to be able to watch them cook these beans! Anyway, the flavor was just like we're used to from Greek family & restaurants. I used a 15oz can of whole tomatoes that I diced, instead of fresh. Worked great! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe has enough potential that I'll probably make it again, but it needs changes. I love olive oil, but it calls for WAY too much. Next time I'll probably saute in 1 tablespoon oil, then add one more with the beans (maybe a little more if the tomatoes aren't very juicy). Also, they weren't even close to done after 45 minutes. I ended up covering them and letting them cook another 30 minutes. Next time I'll try cooking with the lid on from the start. On a positive note, my husband and I agreed the flavor was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
WONDERFUL! I followed the directions exactly and it came out great! Will make this again. My 17 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I doubled the amount of garlic, added oregano and let it cook about ten minutes longer (I tend to like my beans on the softer side). Better than my Nouna's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. Only thing I changed was omitting the tomatoes. I'll use this recipe every time I make green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Forgot to mention in my previous review just a few minutes ago ... it may be called "Greek" green beans but could just as easily be called "Italian", since that is what mama was and who taught me to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States