Greek Garlic-Lemon Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Did not make exactly as directed: subbed chicken stock for water. Why not add a little more flavour, unless going vegetarian? subbed olive oil for vegetable oil. increased oregano slightly. Let's just say that I eyeballed my measurements :). Amazing recipe: and I've passed it on to my friends. Tangy, fresh flavour. Kept me coming back for more! This is a keeper. Thank you for submitting this. ***edited to add: If you use a stock that isn't homemade, don't use the amount of salt noted in the recipe; it will be overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent taste. I agree with previous reviews: if you're using stock, don't use that much salt. I also used all olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaun Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Delicious! I was short on time so I made sure to cut my potatoes into fairly small chunks to speed up the cooking process. The only change I made was to add chicken broth instead of water. Topped with feta before serving. We loved them, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
What a quick, simple and wonderful recipe. No leftovers that night. I kept the skins on poataoes for that extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookbythesea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This dish is so flavorful! And the garlic and lemon compliment each other perfectly without over powering one another. I did use only olive oil instead of vegetable oil & olive oil but other than that I didn't change a thing. I stirred every 30 minutes and added a half cup of additional water twice in the first hour. The potatoes browned perfectly. This one is a keeper, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Followed recipe and used veggie broth. Wonderful recipe; quite possibly my favorite way to prepare potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
So good! I added carrots and celeriac; the celeriac absorbed the lemon a bit too much, but everything else - especially the potatoes - were a dream. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These potatoes are awesome! They are better than ones served in a Greek restaurant. The only thing I substituted was extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil. I also didn't have any fresh parsley, so I just added a little dried parsley. You have to try this recipe. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't get the chance to do these right as someone threw a 6 week old puppy out in front of our house and I was busy debugging her. Lost track of when to stir and add water, etc. and they still turned out absolutely fabulous! Will make again next chance I get! Anyone want a cute little puppy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
OMG I love these potatoes! I too used all olive oil and I used dried parsley because that's what I had on hand and just eyeballed the amount of dried parsley I used. I only needed to cook my potatoes for 1 hour and they were done. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleens6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States