Greek Garlic-Lemon Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Did not make exactly as directed: subbed chicken stock for water. Why not add a little more flavour, unless going vegetarian? subbed olive oil for vegetable oil. increased oregano slightly. Let's just say that I eyeballed my measurements :). Amazing recipe: and I've passed it on to my friends. Tangy, fresh flavour. Kept me coming back for more! This is a keeper. Thank you for submitting this. ***edited to add: If you use a stock that isn't homemade, don't use the amount of salt noted in the recipe; it will be overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
What a quick, simple and wonderful recipe. No leftovers that night. I kept the skins on poataoes for that extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookbythesea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Followed recipe and used veggie broth. Wonderful recipe; quite possibly my favorite way to prepare potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This dish is so flavorful! And the garlic and lemon compliment each other perfectly without over powering one another. I did use only olive oil instead of vegetable oil & olive oil but other than that I didn't change a thing. I stirred every 30 minutes and added a half cup of additional water twice in the first hour. The potatoes browned perfectly. This one is a keeper, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
So good! I added carrots and celeriac; the celeriac absorbed the lemon a bit too much, but everything else - especially the potatoes - were a dream. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Delicious! I was short on time so I made sure to cut my potatoes into fairly small chunks to speed up the cooking process. The only change I made was to add chicken broth instead of water. Topped with feta before serving. We loved them, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These potatoes are awesome! They are better than ones served in a Greek restaurant. The only thing I substituted was extra virgin olive oil for the vegetable oil. I also didn't have any fresh parsley, so I just added a little dried parsley. You have to try this recipe. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't get the chance to do these right as someone threw a 6 week old puppy out in front of our house and I was busy debugging her. Lost track of when to stir and add water, etc. and they still turned out absolutely fabulous! Will make again next chance I get! Anyone want a cute little puppy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent taste. I agree with previous reviews: if you're using stock, don't use that much salt. I also used all olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
OMG I love these potatoes! I too used all olive oil and I used dried parsley because that's what I had on hand and just eyeballed the amount of dried parsley I used. I only needed to cook my potatoes for 1 hour and they were done. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleens6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States