Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
What this recipe might lack in imagination and creativity is more than made up for in taste and presentation. I feel for any recipe submitter who has no choice but to list strict amounts of ingredients when that may or may not be their intent. Therefore, I'm sure the submitter would agree to add any ingredients, including the amount of dressing, to taste rather than specific measurements - which is what I did. I used my own lemon vinaigrette for the dressing which for my tastes is infinitely preferable to the "in" balsamic vinaigrettes. Other than that I used the ingredients as called for in the recipe with no additions or omissions save for some chopped parsley, although the leftover rotisserie chicken I have in the fridge looks like a promising addition for lunch today. Classic, light and refreshing, can't-go-wrong, good-for-you salad at a fraction of the cost you'd pay for it in your deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Me and my guests enjoyed this. I would make it again. I used a bit of salt and garlic powder instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Awesome salad! By the way, garbanzo beans are chick peas (in case you didn't know!). I used one large cucumber and thought it was too much; I will use half and cut it small next time. Increased the feta to about three ounces. I made my own Italian dressing from a recipe on AR. Definitely let this one sit overnight, it gets better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Weinmuller
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Well, I really cant rate this since i totally changed the recipe to Italian. Used fresh mozeralla cheese instead of Feta. I didnt add cucumber but I doubled up on the tomatoes. I skipped the lemon juice. I added some salami and pepperoni! This recipe was just what i needed to get a twist of Chi-Chi's antipast salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weinmuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i made this for a party, i doubled up on the entire recipe but added more feta cheese. i love the cheese! it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
So delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamKeebler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
great salad, didn't need to make any changes. To make this 5+ stars I think I'll try using lemon pepper and some oregano. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very good!! Filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very healthy and tasty, I made this for a dinner gathering with my family and relatives and they finished the whole bowl up in no time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a big success for our family. Even my four year old daughters loved this and its hard to get them to eat anything that has veggi's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States