Greek Feta And Olive Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
FANTASTIC!! You have to be fond of feta cheese and greek flavorings, however. I used kalamata olives instead. I made this then spread it on whole wheat tortillas, laid roasted red peppers in a strip down the middle and rolled them up. Then I cut them (carefully) into pinwheels. Everyone RAVED about them! The spread is awesome. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
The whole party loved it! Will make again and everyone asked for the recipe. Could be my food processor, but pulse didn't work for me. The mixture was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I brought this to a potluck at work, and several people asked for the recipe. Easy and memorably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
i highly recommend blending the sun-dried tomatoes in at the end with the black olives, to avoid the appearance of canned cat food! everyone that tried it absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
We serve this every year on New Years Eve. What a great party dip! Remember to let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours, and the intense saltiness of the feta will fade and the flavors will meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERRYLUISI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
WOW!! I don't give many recipes 5 stars, but this was excellent! I put the olives in the processor (I used kalamata). I then garnished with some sun dried tomatoes, olives and basil. I think you could add some fresh basil for a more complex flavor. I will make this again it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe was delicious and so easy to make! The only thing I changed was that I used kalamata olives instead of plain black olives - and it was so wonderful! I served it with sliced baguette. I couldn't believe how much flavor was packed into each mouthful! It was a hit at the party I brought it to. I will definitely make this one again. It's a nice orangish-red color, so I served it in a a green shallow dish with a sprig of fresh thyme on top. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAT CHEVRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I am Greek and this spread is a party in my mouth! I made it for a friend and we ate the entire thing in one sitting. The strong flavors make this especially different and a cut above the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This was really good lots of good feta/greek flavour(which I love)! My consistancy was quite dry/crumbly, so I added more oil. Will definately make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Lovely. Strong. Feta. I chopped half of the sun dried tomatoes. I soaked these with the rest of the sun. toms. in hot water for a few minutes to soften. I added the whole pieces into the processor when I made the dip and then stirred the chopped pieces in with the chopped olives. I feel this gave the toms a better presence so my guests knew what they were eating. This is great on pita, celery and carrots. It is stiff so you can't dip you need to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Absolutely Fabulous Greek Dressing

This tangy dressing travels well since it doesn't need refrigeration.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States