Greek Egg Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I am Greek and I have been searching for the perfect Easter Butter / Egg cookies. These are very close! I had to increase the sugar slightly as we like our cookies a bit sweeter. The ratio butter flower is a bit off I had to add a bit more flower. Keep an extra 1/2 cup just in case. No sesame seeds as the part of Greece I am from they do not include inside. Next time I will use rind from one orange. Simplest and best recipe I have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninaki
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Efxaristo jia tin nostimi sindaji ! Was a very easy recipe ! The only problem i had was to get them in the traditional shape and i add orange extract not vanilla it tastes a way more fresh ,vanilla makes them to heavy since butter is the main ingredient than you very much ! I madesome with sasame and some without .I added a pic and they look realllyy yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninaki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jonadine
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These Greek cookies, also known as "koulourakias" are simply amazing. I make them every year around Christmas and have since I was a child! My 3 grown children love them and they are not too sweet...just perfect for dipping in coffee! Thank you for publishing this wonderful cookie recipe! (I omit the sesame seeds as I always preferred them plain, although many relatives have added anise, lemon or orange rind or the sesame seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tonopah, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought these were very good, not too sweet, and easy to make. I might decrease the baking powder a touch the next time as the cookies might be a bit more dense (personal preference only), but even as written they certainly were very good. Thank you, Nico, for taking the time to share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very yummy. My son and I made these for part of his 2nd grade history fair project. Although he did not end up winning a prize for his project, the judges voted unanimously for these cookies as their favorite food out of all the projects! He is very proud of his ribbon! I followed the recipe exactly, just cut it in half in the interest of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
As a Greek that is very familiar with the cuisine and these cookies, I can say it's the best recipe! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
A very traditional Greek cookie. They are pretty easy to make, just roll/shape carefully , as the prettier you shape it the better it will look when it's done. (I need more practice!) My cookies only needed to bake for 10-15 minutes- I didn't want the bottoms to be too dark. Also- I had no sesame seeds, so I used white sanding sugar for a delicate touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA
Living In: Bethel, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
What a great cookie for dunking into coffee or tea! I am not much of a baker and found this recipe easy. Had a little hard time "braiding" but worked it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great stuff, i would recomend eating with some jelly or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Very simple and delicious! Great for dunking in your coffee. Thanks Nico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Beat Egg Whites

Learn how to beat egg whites for a light, airy texture for cakes and mousses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States