Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was awesome. Chicken was tender, the shallots melted in your mouth, the flavors were warm and inviting. Easy to make, I used 5 chicken breasts in this dish and served with white rice, poured the yummy broth from this over the rice. I got RAVE reviews from my whole family even from the pickiest child. Thanks soo much Gracey for this recipe will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was really delicious. My 11 yr old was especially taken by it, and by the way it smells while cooking. I did have to make a couple of changes, due to what I had. I didn't have shallots, so I used very thickly sliced up onion, and didn't blanch them first. I also didn't use near the oil called for, but I did use more than I normally would-prob. close to 1/4 cup. I didn't have any parsley, but I added a bunch of fresh marjoram and a little fresh oregano. At the end, I thickened it up with a little cornstarch slurry. Served it with rice and salad. I love this recipe, albeit a little changed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is the most delicious and craveable main dish I have made from this site. Thank you so much for sharing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was SO delicious! This is such a keeper. I think I will make a few modifications next time - a little less olive oil and shallots. I think throwing in a potato might help thicken the consistency a bit, too. I peeled most of the skin off my chicken; the olive oil and chicken grease can be a bit much. Otherwise, this is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used less than 1/4 c olive oil, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. My 4 kids and husband all gave 2 thumbs up--a rarity in our house. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! Very tender and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reduced the olive oil to 1/3 C. My four children and husband all enjoyed it. I appreciated the advice on dealing with shallots...to blanche them first and then remove the skins (although they get very slippery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is great! Made exactly as stated, except I reduced the oil. Love the broth over rice. Next I'll try it with chicken breasts to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an incredibly versatile, delicious and easy to make dish - easily modified for your palate or wonderful (and more neutral-tasting) as written. I add more garlic and a dash of spice. My picky husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
If you added mushrooms you'd practically have a coq au vin. A bit of sugar brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I threw in green beans, carrots, and potatoes, all of which absorbed the excellent flavours and the potatoes thickened the sauce a bit. Fabulous with pain de campagne to dip in the sauce and clean your plate with. Made three days worth - mmmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States