Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was awesome. Chicken was tender, the shallots melted in your mouth, the flavors were warm and inviting. Easy to make, I used 5 chicken breasts in this dish and served with white rice, poured the yummy broth from this over the rice. I got RAVE reviews from my whole family even from the pickiest child. Thanks soo much Gracey for this recipe will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used less than 1/4 c olive oil, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. My 4 kids and husband all gave 2 thumbs up--a rarity in our house. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! Very tender and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reduced the olive oil to 1/3 C. My four children and husband all enjoyed it. I appreciated the advice on dealing with shallots...to blanche them first and then remove the skins (although they get very slippery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is the most delicious and craveable main dish I have made from this site. Thank you so much for sharing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is great! Made exactly as stated, except I reduced the oil. Love the broth over rice. Next I'll try it with chicken breasts to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was SO delicious! This is such a keeper. I think I will make a few modifications next time - a little less olive oil and shallots. I think throwing in a potato might help thicken the consistency a bit, too. I peeled most of the skin off my chicken; the olive oil and chicken grease can be a bit much. Otherwise, this is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an incredibly versatile, delicious and easy to make dish - easily modified for your palate or wonderful (and more neutral-tasting) as written. I add more garlic and a dash of spice. My picky husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was really delicious. My 11 yr old was especially taken by it, and by the way it smells while cooking. I did have to make a couple of changes, due to what I had. I didn't have shallots, so I used very thickly sliced up onion, and didn't blanch them first. I also didn't use near the oil called for, but I did use more than I normally would-prob. close to 1/4 cup. I didn't have any parsley, but I added a bunch of fresh marjoram and a little fresh oregano. At the end, I thickened it up with a little cornstarch slurry. Served it with rice and salad. I love this recipe, albeit a little changed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
If you added mushrooms you'd practically have a coq au vin. A bit of sugar brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I threw in green beans, carrots, and potatoes, all of which absorbed the excellent flavours and the potatoes thickened the sauce a bit. Fabulous with pain de campagne to dip in the sauce and clean your plate with. Made three days worth - mmmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States