Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was OK, but too bland for my palate. I made it again tonight. Doubled the wine, tripled the parsley, 10 cloves of garlic, 1 T of oregano. Now we're talking. As written, I'm sorry, but I'd grade it no higher than a 3. Making it more assertive - a 5. So I compromise with a 4 rating here, for it is truly a good combination of flavors; simply not enough of them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I have been making this dish since it got published. I couldn't bring myself to add one cup of oil so I used only enough to brown the chicken. I also sub tiny boiler onions for the shallot as they are easier to find and cheaper here. Today I decided to make it in my Crockpot. I wasn't disappointed, if anything it was better. I didn't use the broth because of the excess liquid issue and it intensified the flavors. Excellent recipe either way. Thank-you Gracey for a wonderful dish that I have made and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used less than 1/4 c olive oil, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. My 4 kids and husband all gave 2 thumbs up--a rarity in our house. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I usually always follow the recipe verbatim the first time I prepare it. I agree though it needs more oomph (or in this case, more OPA!). Whoever mentioned doubling the wine, 1 TBS of oregano and ten cloves of garlic is on the right track.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was awesome. Chicken was tender, the shallots melted in your mouth, the flavors were warm and inviting. Easy to make, I used 5 chicken breasts in this dish and served with white rice, poured the yummy broth from this over the rice. I got RAVE reviews from my whole family even from the pickiest child. Thanks soo much Gracey for this recipe will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
If you added mushrooms you'd practically have a coq au vin. A bit of sugar brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes. I threw in green beans, carrots, and potatoes, all of which absorbed the excellent flavours and the potatoes thickened the sauce a bit. Fabulous with pain de campagne to dip in the sauce and clean your plate with. Made three days worth - mmmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was SO delicious! This is such a keeper. I think I will make a few modifications next time - a little less olive oil and shallots. I think throwing in a potato might help thicken the consistency a bit, too. I peeled most of the skin off my chicken; the olive oil and chicken grease can be a bit much. Otherwise, this is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Made this last night. It was really quite good! I used 6 large shallots and blanched/peeled them as instructed. They "slide" right out of their outer-layers this way, so that was a great tip. I used a pkg of bone-in/skin-on thighs and drumsticks since my family loves dark meat in a stew. I used a bit more tomato sauce (chunky style with herbs), and I used 3 heaping Tbsp of minced garlic and a lot more Oregano than what it called for, b/c we like more flavorful dishes as well. Used lots of chopped fresh parsley, too. Also added a container of fresh white mushrooms, halved. The results were good! Meat totally fell off the bone, and the flavors were great. My husband didn't care for it, but that's because I put it over Batsmati rice, which was sticky and mushy. I think over egg noodles would be better next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was really delicious. My 11 yr old was especially taken by it, and by the way it smells while cooking. I did have to make a couple of changes, due to what I had. I didn't have shallots, so I used very thickly sliced up onion, and didn't blanch them first. I also didn't use near the oil called for, but I did use more than I normally would-prob. close to 1/4 cup. I didn't have any parsley, but I added a bunch of fresh marjoram and a little fresh oregano. At the end, I thickened it up with a little cornstarch slurry. Served it with rice and salad. I love this recipe, albeit a little changed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good, but not great...it smelled so good while simmering that I was anticipating a very flavorful meat...but the meat was on the dry side, with not much flavor! I will make it again, as I like the flavor of the broth, but next time I will pierce the raw chicken with a fork to get the flavor in, and I'll cook it at a lower temperature for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States