Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was awesome. Chicken was tender, the shallots melted in your mouth, the flavors were warm and inviting. Easy to make, I used 5 chicken breasts in this dish and served with white rice, poured the yummy broth from this over the rice. I got RAVE reviews from my whole family even from the pickiest child. Thanks soo much Gracey for this recipe will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used less than 1/4 c olive oil, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. My 4 kids and husband all gave 2 thumbs up--a rarity in our house. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! Very tender and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reduced the olive oil to 1/3 C. My four children and husband all enjoyed it. I appreciated the advice on dealing with shallots...to blanche them first and then remove the skins (although they get very slippery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is the most delicious and craveable main dish I have made from this site. Thank you so much for sharing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is great! Made exactly as stated, except I reduced the oil. Love the broth over rice. Next I'll try it with chicken breasts to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was a pretty good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was SO delicious! This is such a keeper. I think I will make a few modifications next time - a little less olive oil and shallots. I think throwing in a potato might help thicken the consistency a bit, too. I peeled most of the skin off my chicken; the olive oil and chicken grease can be a bit much. Otherwise, this is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a very good dish. I too used 1/3 cup oil as some suggested and Chicken breast. It was very yummy over rice and a side of Thyme Green Beans also form this web site! Great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was OK, but too bland for my palate. I made it again tonight. Doubled the wine, tripled the parsley, 10 cloves of garlic, 1 T of oregano. Now we're talking. As written, I'm sorry, but I'd grade it no higher than a 3. Making it more assertive - a 5. So I compromise with a 4 rating here, for it is truly a good combination of flavors; simply not enough of them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an incredibly versatile, delicious and easy to make dish - easily modified for your palate or wonderful (and more neutral-tasting) as written. I add more garlic and a dash of spice. My picky husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States