Greek Chicken Stew (Stifado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a very good dish. I too used 1/3 cup oil as some suggested and Chicken breast. It was very yummy over rice and a side of Thyme Green Beans also form this web site! Great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was SO delicious! This is such a keeper. I think I will make a few modifications next time - a little less olive oil and shallots. I think throwing in a potato might help thicken the consistency a bit, too. I peeled most of the skin off my chicken; the olive oil and chicken grease can be a bit much. Otherwise, this is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was a pretty good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is great! Made exactly as stated, except I reduced the oil. Love the broth over rice. Next I'll try it with chicken breasts to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is the most delicious and craveable main dish I have made from this site. Thank you so much for sharing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was wonderful! Very tender and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I reduced the olive oil to 1/3 C. My four children and husband all enjoyed it. I appreciated the advice on dealing with shallots...to blanche them first and then remove the skins (although they get very slippery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used less than 1/4 c olive oil, and increased the chicken broth to 2 cups. My 4 kids and husband all gave 2 thumbs up--a rarity in our house. Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was awesome. Chicken was tender, the shallots melted in your mouth, the flavors were warm and inviting. Easy to make, I used 5 chicken breasts in this dish and served with white rice, poured the yummy broth from this over the rice. I got RAVE reviews from my whole family even from the pickiest child. Thanks soo much Gracey for this recipe will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States