Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These cookies are the kind you can't stop eating. I froze mine as soon as they cooled so there would be some left for Christmas. The dough is sticky so make sure you put alot of Confectionery sugar on your hands when working with it. I put 1 tsp. of Almond extract and baked them at 375 degrees for 13 min. I sprinkled them, when still warm, with red and green sugar for the holidays and also mixed sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkled that on some. I am definitely making another batch before Christmas. I only made the ball cookies because the dough is hard to work with. I did try dipping some in chocolate but thought it took away from the flavor of the cookie. Thanks for a great recipe. 12/7/09 Just made them for this year, I was able to make the S shape this year(don't know why I couldn't do it last year) anyway, I made the S shapes put them on the cookie sheet and sprinkled some with green and red sugar before baking, I left some plain, baked and when cooled sprinkled with confectionery sugar. The rest I made into ball and rolled in a cinnamon/sugar mixture before baking. Love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
OMGoodness. These were so good. Not too sweet or plain. It is a bit time consuming to make the "S" shape but I'm more than positive that the more I make them, the faster it will be. Also, my 4 year old had tons of fun making letters with the dough since "Mommy was making S's. LOL. Her letter cookies burnt though because she made strands to make the letter. So funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made these a few weeks ago with my daughter to see if this would be a good recipe for an upcoming school project. The only thing we didn't have, was almond extract. I didn't care for the cookies, but my daughter did so we decided to keep this recipe when it came time. The cultural fair is tomorrow and we baked about 60 of these, this time using the almond extract. Oh my gosh what a difference. We all loved them (the family). It was really hard not eating the ones for tomorrow lol. I'm not sure what they'll think of them tomorrow, but we really liked them! Oh...it was impossible to make the "S" shape for the dough was way to sticky. We just put small teaspoonfulls on the cookie sheets, and they came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Nice basic cookie for with tea, sometimes you just need a basic cookie instead of wild different combos. Simple is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Let me preface this by writing that making these cookies was also the first time that I had ever eaten a Greek Butter Cookie. On that note, I am only going on what tasted good to me, not how this recipe compares with other Greek Butter cookie recipes. At first I thought that the cookies had too strong of an Almond flavor. They also came out rather soft. After a couple of days, they dried out and had a crispier taste. In the past five days, I have eaten about TWO dozen of these cookies. Do make sure that you properly cream the butter and sugar. Use your mixer at medium-high and cream the butter and sugar together until it lightens almost until a vanilla color. The mixture should develop ridges from the mixer and form into peaks. Stop at this time and Don't over beat. Continue and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We really liked these. I added more almond extract and I did everything else as written. I loved the clean and pure taste of these cookies. They were a great break from sickening sweet desserts. Delectable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Delicious! Made these for my family - I halved the recipe, but it made about 11 cookies (rather than 24.) Also, I doubled the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Awesome! I made them into the 'S' shapes - how fun! I didn't have any vanilla on hand, so I used all almond extract (1 tsp) plus another 1/2 tsp (which is all that was left in the bottle). Very easy and quick and very yummy! Mine baked up perfect at 10 minutes on my insulated sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
these cookies are absolutely spot on, i added a teaspood of cinnamon to the mixture the second time, delicious! Brilliant dipped in coffee or hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States