Greek Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We have baked these cookies for years. We call then "Pecan Dreams" because chopeed pecans are put in the dough and then we roll them in tsp. fulls and stick a half pecan in middle and roll it into the cookie. We put them in the powdered sugar right ways. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hearne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I just made these and I'm really impressed with it. It kind of reminds me of the Dutch boterkoek recipe in my family, so it was easy to follow along. took the advice of the other reviews and put 1 teaspoon instead of half a teaspoon of almond extract. later on they had cooled a bit I melted some seieet ocolachips in a small sauce pan and dipped one end of the cookies into it, then i added sixcubs o white choolate to uncleaned cclate pan to make a lighter chocolate drizzl, aitle coffeee cream to make the chocolate thinner, then i drizzled stripes over the dipped cookies, they taste very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very, very plain and I added the zest of a lemon to the batter because I had it around. Also they spread and so didn't look very good either. Dough was very difficult to work with. I am going to go with a butter cookie that has a little more flavor and some baking powder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Easy recipe, but I added a bit more flour to make them easier to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I just finished a batch and I can't stop eating them, I made some tea to have with them, but ate 3 before the water boiled. I added a little more almond essence because mine was really old. The prep time is much longer than 10min because of the S shapes, which weren't as hard as many suggested, just have to work fast and would help if these were made on a cooler day with cool hands. In saying so I have hot hands all the time and they still turned out awesome. Cook time is definitely 10 min per tray, I ended up with 3 = 30min all together. Used a non-stick cookie pan and didn't grease it, looked like there was enough butter in the recipe and they didn't stick. Used baking paper on a normal cookie sheet and they were fine too. They have a great light crisp texture for me, will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
my friend alison made these cookies for a christmas project in school they were very good and she made them for her family first and they were a little hard so she made them a little softer for class they were the best cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
doubled the almond extract, added 3/4 cup of crushed walnuts. excellent flavor, but i just wish they were a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My sister makes these cookies and I absolutely love them! I called her to get the recipe and she sent me here. Making them for the first time today. I love, love, love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum! These are great, not too sweet, and they have a great flavor. I'm having them with my breakfast tea. The S shape is easy to do, and kinda fun too. We've already made 2 batches, I hope there are some left over to give out for the holidays...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So easy & now a family favorite ! I rolle in a ball &"patted" them down a bit instead of making an "S". I also used the recipe & added finely chopped pecans & omitted the confectioners' sugar for another type of cookie...also made cinnamon cookies using cinnamon extract instead of the vanilla & almond...great any way you fix them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States