Greek Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jackhafner
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made these with lean ground beef because I couldn't find lamb and added some feta to the patties. I also put some diced fennel leaves into the aioli. In the words of Jules, "Mmm-mmm! That is a tasty burger."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I didn't have fennel or shallots on hand so I used only very finely chopped red onion; otherwise made recipe as directed. These lamb burgers are great topped with tzatziki. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I could not get ground lamb from my meat dept. so i used 1/2 lb. ground turkey and 1/2 lb lean ground beef. Other than that I followed the recipe it was fantastic! Even my hubby and kids liked it.A nice change to a plain burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The best burger I have ever had! I loved biting into the bits of fennel. I couldn't find ground lamb, so I used hamburger - was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
omit fennel from meat and instead slice and grill/cook the fennel on a grill or frypan and use as you would use an onion on the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Cut this recipe in half to serve my family and it went over pretty well. I only used a quarter of a bulb of fennel (my fennel must have been huge so go with your gut instincts on this). I sauteed the fennel and shallots in some olive oil and garlic and salt/pepper until they were nice and soft. I didn't want to bite into hard bits of fennel, plus cooking the fennel mellows out the flavor. I added greek seasoning (mccormick brand) instead of just the oregano - the greek seasoning had oregano in it. Ofcourse I seasoned with salt and pepper to my liking. I always cook a tiny bit before making my patties to taste the seasonings. I served in Pita Bread. For the Aioli mayo - I always add a bit of lemon juice and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
start with this recipe but you'll need to doctor it...boring as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We really enjoy Greek food - well Greek meats! lol Anyway I made this with a little variations - added some fresh chopped parsley to use some out of the garden, only used a bit of fennel seed that I ground. That added enough flavour. I didn't make the garlic/mayo sauce but bought a tzatzkik dip & used that on the bread rolls. Hubby loved it! Not your average hamberger (which I don't really eat) but this will be a mainstay in our recipe file for those lazy cooking nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
delicious!!! love greek food and burgers, so this was a winning marriage! i added a dash of lemon juice to the meat mix and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
My husband and I recently did a special "cleanse" that had very selective meat requirements. Lamb was one of the options, but I'd never cooked lamb in my life. This burger was a staple for us, and we'll keep it in the rotation even now that we're back to regular food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States