Greek Bifteki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This turns blah burgers into a gourmet meal! My husband and I loved it. Like other reviewers, I added some oregano and basil in addition to the thyme, and I used a bit more yogurt to make them very moist. I also ended up using crumbled gorgonzola (a type of blue cheese) instead of the feta, which had gone AWOL. (the gorgonzola was great, but I'm sure feta would be equally good) Since the burgers were fairly thick, we cooked them on low heat on the grill. Served with the Greek Style Potatoes (which were excellent and easy to prepare) and artichokes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
So Freakin' Simple It's Scary! I omited the thyme and added fresh oregano for a more traditional Greek flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Would not change a thing! The spices make it something very special! Really enjoyed that meal! Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
boring!!! ground beef w cheese in it. not so exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
These were easy and good. However, I'm a little bit of a numbskull when it comes to the grill. Call it a female thing. My grill was a tad too high and I flipped them too early, so unfortunately, they broke apart a little bit. However, the taste was wonderful. When you make the patties, be sure to make each pattie on the thin side, otherwise you'll end up with a gi-normous burger that takes forever to grill. I'd make these again and I'd also try other types of cheeses, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLACKERM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
I used ground turkey instead of beef and a George Foreman grill. 1.25 lbs made 3 large patties. It took MAYBE 10 minutes to prepare, and that included 4 minutes of defrosting time. So simple. Pretty tasty. Love the feta. LOW CARB. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
As suggested, I substituted oregano for thyme. Wonderful flavors - a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I decided to try this recipe because of how much I like feta cheese, but I was not at all impressed. Like another reviewer said, you could hardly taste the feta inside the burger. I also thought the thyme was a bit overwhelming. I make way better hamburgers than this on a regular basis, so I will not be making this recipe again. My boyfriend said he liked it, but he was putting BBQ sauce on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Nice spin on the burger. I used more feta cheese, added oregano, and would serve it with garlic-flavored sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Very Good - Great idea. Even the two kids who don't like burgers ate these ones. They were a little hard to handle during prep and cooking because they were so thin but the flavor was defintely worth it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States