Greek Bifteki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a very gourmet way to cook hamburger patties. I thought this was great and ate it with rice and peas. I used crumbled feta cheese because I did not have slice feta cheese available in my refrigerator. Overall, this is a great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These were dry and flavorless. The addition of oregano helped some, but they could have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Partner liked it enough - not me. Too bland. Tried drowning in tzatziki sauce, but didn't help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This had a nice "cool" herby flavor. I liked the cheese in the center. These were a bit dry though and needed some sort of sauce to go with them. I thought these were okay but my husband didn't care for them so I probably won't fix them again. This was good for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Tastes very much like shaved gyro meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A new fave! *Changes I made: ground turkey greek yogurt (easy to find at the store) crumbled feta 1 tsp minced garlic 2 tbl peeled chopped cucumbers Topped with Tzatziki sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It was very good. I am not a fan much of thyme or as others suggested, oregano. I substituted Greek seasoning and served it over those really thin whole grain hamburger buns with lettuce and tomatoes. It was very good and a nice change to the regular burger. I get tired of regular burgers sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
its only getting four stars right now because i used the george foreman grill. they still turned out great, but i have a feeling they would have been awesome if i used indirect heat like the directions say to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good! I decreased the tyme to 1/2 tsp. and added 1 teaspoon oregano. It is also good to use a mixture of half ground beef and half ground lamb. The butcher can grind the lamb for you. Then the burgers taste a lot more like gyro meat. I too added more feta per burger just because we love it! Don't over handle the meat and only flip the burgers once to keep them moist and not tough or dry. These are great served with Greek tzatkiki sauce and fresh sliced tomato, and Greek style roasted potatoes make the perfect side dish. ( Recipes for both are on this site )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was really enjoyable. I followed the recipe for the most part. Added a little bit of allspice and onion powder. Used earlier feedback to use oregano. Also, had crumbled feta on hand and mixed it in with the beef mixture. Hubby cooked it slowly on the grill. I made jasmine rice to go with it and tzaziki sauce. Was a wonderful mixture off the bun. Kids enjoyed them on the buns with a variety of toppings. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States