Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love this soup and make it often, my daughter's favourite. We prefer it made with orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was an amazing, nourishing, completely satisfying lunch for me....loved it! I didn't have a whole chicken, so I made the following substitutions: 1) used four cups chicken broth 2) added 1/2 tsp garlic 3) added 1/2 tsp onion powder 3) added 1/4 tsp dried Rosemary 4) subbed 1/4 cup uncooked Orzo for the rice 5) added a handful of finely diced chicken breast for additional protein 6) subbed 3 teaspoons fresh lemon juice for the two lemons. I shared the leftovers with my picky kids when they got home from school...they REALLY liked it and gobbled up the leftovers. Thx for the wonderful recipe dimitra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Greek Soup is delicious! Forget the chicken and buy some Turkey Necks, cook until you can pull the meat off of the bones. Do your eggs and lemon juice in your blender and keep it twirling slowly adding the hot broth to the blender until your blender is full then slowly pour it into the hot broth in your pot. and stir it very good so that it does not curdle... Just my opinion that the turkey neck meat far surpasses the cooked chicken.... and I also bake some chicken thighs anyway you like served with potatoes, vegetables anything you like..and there you have a meal after your delicious soup. It's really not difficult after you do it once....Yes it needs salt....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have eaten this soup since I was a little girl ! It is fantastic! Try boiling the chicken with a whole onion cut in 4 , celery heart and garlic! Them take out once chicken is done boiling !!! And put salt and pepper and lemon juice on the chicken after :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Man it's just like my mum used to make it,,,,, the best soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe is dead on as far as authenticity goes. However I have a few tips...First, only use a glass bowl to beat your eggs in so you get the frothy consistency needed for the creaminess. Also, I like to add a little cornstarch (very little) for a little extra thickness. If you feel your soup is lacking in flavor, you may want to use chicken broth or stock to boil your chicken in. P.S., if you want to get a bit creative but stay true to the original recipe, try garnishing with fresh chives ;) kali orexi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul Kizanis
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the best soup ever. I am Greek and my dad use to make this when he was alive. Most Greek Restaurants dont put pieces of chicken in the soup they mostly use chicken broth, I love it with the chicken in it. It really to bad grocery stores dont sell this. I would eat this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kizanis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I threw this together for lunch. I heated chicken stock ( kitchen basics is the best and gluten free) until almost boiling. Followed the egg/lemon portion of the recipe exactly the same. Added rice cooked in chicken broth from a day earlier to the broth before I add the egg/lemon mix. It turned out so amazing. I added chicken breast I'd made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent and very easy. Used 10 thighs for the chicken. 2 cups of stock substituted for 2 cups of water. Used one lemon, one and one-half might have been better. Black, white and red pepper. Also used short Italian rice instead of long. Can easily make more rice and add after the soup is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very tasty. Make sure to fully beat the egg and lemon, and follow directions to slowly ladle broth into egg mixture to avoid scrambled egg bits in your soup. Good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States