Greek Avgolemono Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is the only (and best) recipe on the internet for traditional Greek chicken lemon soup - without all the extras- and it's delicious. My yaya use to make it for me when I was a small girl and then so did my mother. This soup is warming and good for the soul - perfect for a cold night or if you're not feeling well. ** If you ate this as a small Greek child it will bring back many happy memories - I'm sure! ** Thanks for sharing this recipe. Sometimes I forget about egg/ broth mixture at the end so I use this recipe to remind me to do it carefully. Finally I have signed up and rated! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is one of my favorite soups - delicious, comforting, and so easy to make! The only ways I do it differently are: - I add tofu to it (I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Suico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My mother gave me this recipe. Which, also was given by my yai-yai ( Greek for grandmother ) and I know have the recipe, so all I have to say I delicious dish. Also great for cold weather and will clear your head up. Only thing I learn is that for me 3 eggs I a little much I usually do 2 with 3 lemons and a hint of more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love this soup and make it often, my daughter's favourite. We prefer it made with orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was an amazing, nourishing, completely satisfying lunch for me....loved it! I didn't have a whole chicken, so I made the following substitutions: 1) used four cups chicken broth 2) added 1/2 tsp garlic 3) added 1/2 tsp onion powder 3) added 1/4 tsp dried Rosemary 4) subbed 1/4 cup uncooked Orzo for the rice 5) added a handful of finely diced chicken breast for additional protein 6) subbed 3 teaspoons fresh lemon juice for the two lemons. I shared the leftovers with my picky kids when they got home from school...they REALLY liked it and gobbled up the leftovers. Thx for the wonderful recipe dimitra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Greek Soup is delicious! Forget the chicken and buy some Turkey Necks, cook until you can pull the meat off of the bones. Do your eggs and lemon juice in your blender and keep it twirling slowly adding the hot broth to the blender until your blender is full then slowly pour it into the hot broth in your pot. and stir it very good so that it does not curdle... Just my opinion that the turkey neck meat far surpasses the cooked chicken.... and I also bake some chicken thighs anyway you like served with potatoes, vegetables anything you like..and there you have a meal after your delicious soup. It's really not difficult after you do it once....Yes it needs salt....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My absolute favorite I do add celery stock, a whole onion to boil with the chicken !! Just how my yiaya used to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Man it's just like my mum used to make it,,,,, the best soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe is dead on as far as authenticity goes. However I have a few tips...First, only use a glass bowl to beat your eggs in so you get the frothy consistency needed for the creaminess. Also, I like to add a little cornstarch (very little) for a little extra thickness. If you feel your soup is lacking in flavor, you may want to use chicken broth or stock to boil your chicken in. P.S., if you want to get a bit creative but stay true to the original recipe, try garnishing with fresh chives ;) kali orexi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul Kizanis
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the best soup ever. I am Greek and my dad use to make this when he was alive. Most Greek Restaurants dont put pieces of chicken in the soup they mostly use chicken broth, I love it with the chicken in it. It really to bad grocery stores dont sell this. I would eat this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Kizanis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States