Grecian Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I also halved the recipe, et it marinate overnight, cooked it in a 350 degree oven for about 45 mins. It was perfect -- so moist and tender. Plus, the leftovers make great Greek pita sandwiches with lettuce, tomatoes, olives, feta, red onion, pepperocini and greek dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is an extraordinary dish! I followed the recipe as directed and it turned out great! The taste of the lime on the pork is absolutely remarkable. I added extra marinade on top of the pork tenderloin before inserting it in the oven at 400 degrees Farenheit for 30 minutes and it turned out to perfection. (Since it's winter and quite cold here in Ottawa, Canada, I couldn't use my bbq so I used the oven instead). I served this great dish with Asiago toasted cheese puffs (see recipe on allrecipes.com) along with risotto with artichokes! What a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Bar none, this is one of the tastiest ways to prepare pork tenderloin I have ever tried. I accidentally forgot to add the oregano, and it was STILL just great. Next time, of course, I will try to remember the oregano! Per some of the other reviews, I halved all the marinade ingredients and had plenty for 2 tenderloins. I used fresh lemon juice to make it "authentic" Greek, rather than lime juice, minced about 1/3 of the garlic for the marinade & made slits in the tenderloins & inserted the garlic slices. We cooked it on our gas grill over indirect heat for exactly 25 minutes (to 160 degrees), and it was superb! Thanks, Dave, for this keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Excellent marinade for pork tenderloin - however I cut the amount of marinade in half and it was plenty for 2 pound of pork. I used lemon juice instead of lime about 1/2 cup and cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp. I used only 2 Tbsp. of oregano. I added 1/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce. I cut the pork into kabobs, put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate all day. It grilled up perfectly and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
The thing I love most about this recipe is how well it freezes. It's great for bulk cooking. When the pork chops I like go on sale, I buy a bunch for this recipe. I line up enough gallon-size zipper bags to put 4 or 5 chops in each bag, then I make a half-recipe of the marinade in each bag and add the chops. I lay them flat in the fridge to marinate until the next day, then I transfer them to the freezer. They make a nice quick meal, just thaw and grill/broil. Truth be told, I modify the recipe a bit. I use lemon juice instead of lime, and use 3 generous Tbsp each of basil and oregano. I also use more garlic and mince it. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Very tasty. I'm allergic to pork so I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Marinated them for about 5 hours starting from semi-frozen state. I think I'll marinate a little longer next time to bring out the lime. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Good recipe with a few modifications. Makes way too much marinade - cut it in half and there is still more than enough for two whole tenderloins. I used lemon juice and reduced the amount of oregano. Also added fresh ground pepper to the marinade. Roasted uncovered in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes. Use an oven thermometer to get it perfect. If it's overcooked it dries right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I was never too sure about this recipe until I tasted it....Outstanding! I cut the marinade in half as previous reviewers sugessted. Other suggestions: - pour some olive oil on a paper towel to grease your grill grates. Grease just prior to putting meat on (use enough towels so you don't burn yourself!). - use gallon ziploc freezer bags to marinate meat in. Turn over every hour or so. - put a meat thermometer in center of one of the tenderloins after turning...should just reach 170 degrees when done. - use fresh limes! (6 to 8 to get 7 ounces).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This came out DELICIOUS! I used minced garlic for the sliced and bottled key lime juice instead of the fresh, as I didn't have any. My only reservation was the large quantity of grilled (and therefore slightly crunchy) oregano bits on the meat when we ate it. I think next time I would try to rinse them off with the marinade or use ground instead of chopped. (The recipe doesn't specify which to use.) To those who used lemon juice instead of lime and thought it was too tart, OF COURSE IT WAS! If you don't make a recipe right, don't give it a bad review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Very good. I started it on the stove for 10 minutes, browning on all sides. Then put it in the oven with the remaining marinade at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, took it out and covered with foil and let it sit 10 more minutes. Sliced and spooned a bit of the marinade on. We had the Beet Salad by Robbie Haferkamp on this site and Orzo with Feta and Cherry Tomatoes from Epicurious.com. Yummy Greek dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States