Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Definitely a keeper :) I've made this twice now, & it was delicious both times. I did try it with both quantity options of butter (1 c vs. 3/4 c) Better with 1 cup & 1 tsp of cinnamon added nice flavor. I forgot those changes the 2nd time I made it, and it was missing a little zip :) Make a few days ahead of time...definitely improves with a few days time in the fridge. (I wouldn't hesitate to make it if you are running on a last minute basis, just better if you can make in advance!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
LOVE this dessert! I have made it many times and it ALWAYS gets rave reviews! Made it again today but decided to try it with fresh pumpkin (from a pie pumpkin, about 2 cups), a spice cake mix and pecans- it is delicious this way too! Other than that I don't change a thing. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream, or room temp with whipped cream. One suggestion- I sift or stir my cake mix before I sprinkle it over the pumpkin to make sure it spreads evenly. You and your guests will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I tried cutting the margarine into the cake mix and crumbling it on top of the pumpkin mixture. Disaster! The cake mix part totally sank into and was absorbed by the pumpkin mix, resulting in a very cake-y texture throughout. It tasted okay but was a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Made this for thanksgiving! Delicious!!! Used yellow cake mix, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is by far my favorite dessert for the Thanksgiving season! Ive been making it for 3 years now and I have people calling asking me for more! One hint to perfection, cinnamon whip cream! Cool whip makes it during the holidays and its amazing on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have made other pumpkin deserts that were difficult due to the fact that you were to turn it upside down(NIGHTMARE) or you had to scope it out which is fine but I'd rather not. This recipe Was perfect!! I did make it the day before as suggested and it cut into squares perfectly I and I do think the flavors mingled better the next day. I adjusted some of the flavors by pinches because I was afraid of it being too sweet or not sweet enough. I felt it was sweeter then I would of liked but EVERYONE LOVED it. Will be my one and only pumpkin desert!! Oh yeah....I told everyone it was an old family recipe! I want them to beg me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was simply amazing! If you like pumpkin pie you will love this! I let it rest in the refridge over night & it was just how we like our pumpkin pie...cold with homemade whip. I did omit walnuts. I will use the other reviewers suggestion of mixing butter with cake mix prior to pouring over the pumpkin mixture before baking. It was sooo good! Everyone loved it & my son said first bite....this is amazing!! My husband couldn't help himself & went back for thirds! YUMMMMMMOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not sure how this will turn out... I'm asking myself as I write this, "why didn't you read MORE reviews?" I did make more melted butter than it calls for, so hopefully it will be OK. I love trying new things, but EESH! I feel bad for the girl who said her's burned and only a 1/3 of it was presentable. That stinks... I'm making this to share with my neighbors, and let them know there's a prowler/thief in the neighborhood. Baked goods as a gift will surely make the news easier to swallow. :) Update: Eleven mins and it is done... I checked it.. half was more dark on top than the other, not too bad, though, so I rotated it. It really smells devine. Yaay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I loved the pumpkin middle, but I didn't much like the bottom layer. Maybe I used the wrong cake mix. I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this for a Thanksgiving feast at work and my co-workers loved this dessert even the ones who don't like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States