Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. Both ways, with spice cake and with a butter pecan cake mix. Really yummy! After it cools I top it with cool whip mixed with a few tablespoons of brown sugar and a splash of vanilla. Refrigerate and its soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have been making this cake for years. Fantastic and popular where ever I take it. A few things I do differently. Butter is 1 cup. I line the metal cake pan w 2 layers of wax paper. Substitute pecans for walnuts. Drizzle the butter evenly after the nuts. Bake...allow to cool in pan for 6 hours...very dense pie takes forever to cool. Then flip onto serving platter...carefully. Pound on the bottom after flipping and the cake will drop out. I ice with a cream cheese/whip cream icing. Sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I live in Cairo,Egypt. I crave anything with pumpkin in the fall. It's difficult to find canned pumpkin so when I do, I buy many cans. I tried this recipe last weekend for some friends. SWEET...way too sweet. I would cut out some of the sugar and maybe even use less of the cake mix. It was good though, but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very easy, good recipe! I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
So good...topped it with whip cream for an extra touch! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Such an easy and delicious recipe! I didn't spread my cake mix out enough so the cake mix in the middle didn't completely bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Awesome... Agree it's better day 2,3,&4! I didn't melt the butter I cut it up like a traditional dump cake. Next time I will sprinkle cinnamon on top and skip the nuts. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I read some of the suggestions shared for this recipe, so I added a full cup of butter, and like some others had done, I cut the butter into the cake mix instead of melting it. I also added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ground ginger and cloves to the cake mix. The house smelled absolutely heavenly while baking and really brought the Autumn season to life. It is delicious and my whole family keeps digging a spoon into it every time they pass through the kitchen. I am going to have to put it out of sight to keep them out of it. Thanks for the recipe, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. It is basically the same one my neighbor taught us to make growing up and I never get tired of it!! Suggestion: Here is one thing that would help with the crust problem people are having. Instead of melting the butter, grate it and spread it evenly over the cake mix. This way when it melt it spreads on its own and keeps the cake mix from sinking. I hope this helps. I also think it needs to be cooked a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is delicious! I only changed the butter to 1 stick and cut it into the dry cake mix, rather than melting it to drizzle on top. I like both walnuts and almonds on top. Also I used a lemon cake mix which didn't interfere with the pumpkin flavor and actually brightened it up just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States