Great Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this for the 1st time yesterday for a dinner party. Instead of the yellow cake mix I used butter pecan. It was soooo good! It was a hit with everyone!! I going to make it again just for our family for Thanksgiving! My husband doesn't love pumpkin pie, but he loved this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Good flavor. Smelled wonderful. But it's definately NOT a cake: more like a custard with a cruchy crumble on top. Maybe I'll try it again and swirl the cake mix in the top, cooking it a little longer than an hour and using foil so the nuts don't burn. I was so disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is delicious and so easy to make! Like someone else suggested, I melted the 3/4 cup of butter and added it to the cake mix and then crumbled it on top of the pumpkin mixture. The topping wasn't powdery or hard after it was baked. I also added 2tsp of cinnamon to the pumpkin mixture in addition to the pumpkin pie spice and used pecans instead of walnuts. Great right out of the oven or cold out of the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
The only reason I gave this a four instead of five is due to the adjustments necessary. I cut into the cake mix, with a pastry blender, unmelted butter and a beaten egg. Used one tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of ginger, nutmeg and cloves. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Used pecans & 1/2 cup of butter. It was a big hit with people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Tastes a lot like pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Yes I made this, and my pumpkin hating husband loved it. It is super easy and I will make it again I even like it better than pumpkin pie and it is way faster to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have been making this for years. My original recipe calls for mixing 1/2 cup melted butter with the cake mix and nuts, then crumbling over the top. It's so good that EVERYONE tries to pick off all the topping! Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This turned out really good! However, I did make a couple of changes.. I used a spice cake mix instead of just yellow and used a full cup of melted butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This recipe was fabulous! I made it as the recipe states and it turned out wonderful! I got tons of complements on it! I will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States