Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Just made it. I followed the recipe and kept in mind what the other reviews said about cook time and adding more milk. I actually cooked it in 20-30 minutes and with the exact amount of milk. I chose to cook it slowly and watch the temperature to insure the right texture (I tend to burn milk easily). My only difference is that I doubled the recipe. If the pasta is sucking up alot of milk you may be using the wrong pasta. Make sure it is elbows or like. Also, I used already shredded melting cheese from Kraft. I did not have a grainy consistency. I thought this was tasty and easy. I would make this again without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Gooey and delicious for sure. I didn't know if the pasta should be cooked first. It shouldn't. I seasoned the onions with salt and pepper and added a minced clove of garlic. I also added some flavor to the extra sharp cheddar with a couple of splashes of hot sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
when making baked mac n cheese all you need is macaroni or shell noodles, regular bag or medium size box of noodles, (small) boil until done . Drain, add tblspn of butter (optional) add whatever cheese (shredded ) into hot drained noodles mix until melted add about a 1/2 cup of mik, mix, dump into preheated of (450 degrees) let it bake until the top of the mac n cheese is golden brown. This is all u need. Putting flour and crackers is to much junk for the trunk, lets keep simple. yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was easy and delicious. I used 2 cups of macaroni, onion powder, and skim milk, adding more as it was absorbed. A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I had made this twice, the first time it worked out great, it was rich and creamy, but the second time I made it, it was much too liquidy and I couldn't finish it because I disliked the taste so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
It was pretty good, although I found that you need to add a lot more milk. It was also grainy, but the more milk you add, the less grainy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the best mac & cheese I've ever tasted! I doubled the recipe, used 1% milk, half the amount of onion and slightly less flour. I also had different cheeses in so I used white cheddar, monterey jack, swiss, gouda and havarti. I've been trying to duplicate Trader Joe's frozen mac & cheese (so creamy and yummy!) which uses a mix of these cheeses and this recipe tastes even better! I stirred the roux while slowly adding the milk and when it was time to add the cheese, I added that slowly too (off heat) while stirring like some of the reviewers suggested. I think that really helps keep it smooth and creamy. Also, when you add the flour, let it cook (while stirring) for about 5 mins or so to cook out the flour taste. I love onion but next time I'll add even less (just personal preference). Thank you for a great, easy, one-pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuttyMeg
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Awful. Would never make again. It was grainy texture. Big dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I must have done something wrong, this was gross, I even added the mexican cheese. There was no flavor and was like eating a clump of goo. Probably was me since it had such great reviews but I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Super yummy, I have made this many times, I like the thickness of it. It is even better when adding multiple cheeses. I added parmesan, swiss, cheddar, and colby and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States