Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I loved this recipe! All I had in the fridge was a smoked cheddar, which turned out fantastic! It made it taste like there was some bacon added too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the best mac & cheese I've ever tasted! I doubled the recipe, used 1% milk, half the amount of onion and slightly less flour. I also had different cheeses in so I used white cheddar, monterey jack, swiss, gouda and havarti. I've been trying to duplicate Trader Joe's frozen mac & cheese (so creamy and yummy!) which uses a mix of these cheeses and this recipe tastes even better! I stirred the roux while slowly adding the milk and when it was time to add the cheese, I added that slowly too (off heat) while stirring like some of the reviewers suggested. I think that really helps keep it smooth and creamy. Also, when you add the flour, let it cook (while stirring) for about 5 mins or so to cook out the flour taste. I love onion but next time I'll add even less (just personal preference). Thank you for a great, easy, one-pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuttyMeg
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
when making baked mac n cheese all you need is macaroni or shell noodles, regular bag or medium size box of noodles, (small) boil until done . Drain, add tblspn of butter (optional) add whatever cheese (shredded ) into hot drained noodles mix until melted add about a 1/2 cup of mik, mix, dump into preheated of (450 degrees) let it bake until the top of the mac n cheese is golden brown. This is all u need. Putting flour and crackers is to much junk for the trunk, lets keep simple. yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I added bacon which was good. But will have to agree with others very grainy also the cheese to pasta ratio was off will not try again. Im lookin for that boston market mac and cheese yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was the first mac and cheese I have ever tried (I live in Europe and I have never tried any thing like this) and I have to say it's amazing! I pured more milk in the pan so the macaroni cooked nicely and I put some corn at the end. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was very delicious! I loved the thickness and it was VERY cheesy. I do think that you should add a little extra milk as others have said. I think next time i will add some bread crumbs on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great concept...I as many others found it to be grainy. I also subbed the cheddar for shredded mexican blend cheese & added 1/2 can of chopped green chili peppers at the end. I will make it again but I think I will pre cook the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is it! I have been looking for years for a good mac & cheese recipe that uses real cheese not processed. This is nice and creamy, not grainy. Followed recipe exactly. Yummy, yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
L-O-V-EEEE this recipe! ,ac and cheese lovers all over the family, and everyone always wants more. dew are allergic to the actual onion though so i used a sprinkle of onion poweder. all around great food to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Love, love, love this! Have not purchased a single Kraft box since making this! We are now making it once, sometimes twice a week. It is way better than any box Mac & Cheese and doesn't take that much longer to prepare. I also like how you don't have to drain the macaroni. I like to use 1 cup cheddar, 1/2 cup mozzarella. I made it one time and ran out of cheese and added cream cheese--also very yummy! Also works great using rice milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States