Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I've made this several times and it's great each and every time. Always such a crowd-pleaser and easily doubles or triples to serve big parties. I stir constantly rather than leaving it covered to simmer - this ensures no burning on the bottom of the pot! I also make a crunchy topping with 1 cup of panko bread crumbs, 1/2 stick of melted butter and a large handful of shredded cheese. I add the finished macaroni to a greased 9x13 pan, top with the panko bred crumb mixture and cook in the oven for about 10-15 minutes. I then turn on the broiler for about 4-5 minutes to give that golden brown color to the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Quick and easy! I used skim milk and did not find it grainy at all. I followed the advice of others and did use about a half cup more of milk. It does need a little more flavor development so I might add pepper, garlic powder, and dried mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERPEACH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Easy breezy and delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Not a big fan of this Mac & Cheese. I followed the directions almost exactly, the only difference.. I added more cheese (which was a big mistake). The M&C was too thick & the noodles didn't cook enough (I should of gave it another 5-10mins). My son hated it & his father pretended to like & when my back was turned he tossed his portion in the trash :-/ So bummed this didn't turn out good, it was a real easy recipe to follow, it just wasn't tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique 'Nikki' Ferrer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
yes it's very easy. the only exception i made was i sauted crushed garlic and mushrooms in butter instead of onion and the rest of the recipe was same. it was yummy to say the least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
OHH so good, I did add four slices of Kraft American for the kids... So good!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was really delicious! The only things I added was a 1/2 cup of sour cream, ham, but that was just because I had some leftover And Colby Jack and sharp cheeses.. I also folowed someones recommend to just keep adding a little milk as it cooked. It cooked for about 17 min. It was really good! I will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
this mac and cheese recipe is awesome. super easy and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
very easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly28

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe. I cannot account for all the poor reviews below. Possibly the grittiness is in response to packaged sauces. Homemade sauces are almost never as smooth as commercial ones because most home recipes do not call for soy emulsifiers and the like. Anyway, I added a chopped garlic clove and half a teaspoon of dry dill as well as upped the cheese to probably roughly two cups (I kept adding till it tasted right, native Wisconsinite, gotta have my cheese) Sharp cheddar is a must if you are looking for strong cheesy taste as milk will water down weaker cheeses. Would have given 5 stars but I had to add my own stuff (dill etc) to make it a 5 star dish ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States