Great Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Just made it. I followed the recipe and kept in mind what the other reviews said about cook time and adding more milk. I actually cooked it in 20-30 minutes and with the exact amount of milk. I chose to cook it slowly and watch the temperature to insure the right texture (I tend to burn milk easily). My only difference is that I doubled the recipe. If the pasta is sucking up alot of milk you may be using the wrong pasta. Make sure it is elbows or like. Also, I used already shredded melting cheese from Kraft. I did not have a grainy consistency. I thought this was tasty and easy. I would make this again without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Gooey and delicious for sure. I didn't know if the pasta should be cooked first. It shouldn't. I seasoned the onions with salt and pepper and added a minced clove of garlic. I also added some flavor to the extra sharp cheddar with a couple of splashes of hot sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
when making baked mac n cheese all you need is macaroni or shell noodles, regular bag or medium size box of noodles, (small) boil until done . Drain, add tblspn of butter (optional) add whatever cheese (shredded ) into hot drained noodles mix until melted add about a 1/2 cup of mik, mix, dump into preheated of (450 degrees) let it bake until the top of the mac n cheese is golden brown. This is all u need. Putting flour and crackers is to much junk for the trunk, lets keep simple. yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was easy and delicious. I used 2 cups of macaroni, onion powder, and skim milk, adding more as it was absorbed. A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I had made this twice, the first time it worked out great, it was rich and creamy, but the second time I made it, it was much too liquidy and I couldn't finish it because I disliked the taste so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
It was pretty good, although I found that you need to add a lot more milk. It was also grainy, but the more milk you add, the less grainy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the best mac & cheese I've ever tasted! I doubled the recipe, used 1% milk, half the amount of onion and slightly less flour. I also had different cheeses in so I used white cheddar, monterey jack, swiss, gouda and havarti. I've been trying to duplicate Trader Joe's frozen mac & cheese (so creamy and yummy!) which uses a mix of these cheeses and this recipe tastes even better! I stirred the roux while slowly adding the milk and when it was time to add the cheese, I added that slowly too (off heat) while stirring like some of the reviewers suggested. I think that really helps keep it smooth and creamy. Also, when you add the flour, let it cook (while stirring) for about 5 mins or so to cook out the flour taste. I love onion but next time I'll add even less (just personal preference). Thank you for a great, easy, one-pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuttyMeg
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Awful. Would never make again. It was grainy texture. Big dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I must have done something wrong, this was gross, I even added the mexican cheese. There was no flavor and was like eating a clump of goo. Probably was me since it had such great reviews but I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Super yummy, I have made this many times, I like the thickness of it. It is even better when adding multiple cheeses. I added parmesan, swiss, cheddar, and colby and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States