Great Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Excellent! Gourmet taste with simple prep. I used 1 1/2 cans of crabmeat, since fresh is difficult and expensive to come by here in southwest Missouri. Thanks for sharing-- this will become standard appetizer fare in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This recipie is a HUGE success everytime I make it. I have also added baby shrimp and green onion to give a little kick. A little hot sauce doesn't hurt either. I have made it repeatedly and don't get invited to parties unless I promise to make it! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Absolutely wonderful hot *or* cold! I recommend going with scallions (with a bit of the green for color) over minced onion but other than that, it's great. Even my sister who eats no seafood at all asked for the recipe after I made it over the holidays. I may add roasted peppers next time for even more presentation oomph. Oh, and even with Neufchatel, it was creamy rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I made some changes since I didn't have prepared horseradish or cocktail sauce or almonds in. LOL I highly recommend what I came up with! Absolutely delicious!! Saute 1/3 cup diced onions and peppers in 2tbsp. butter, add 1 minced clove of garlic after when they are soft. Add a good splash of lemon juice and worstershire sauce, 1-2 oz white wine & sherry, reduce, add cream cheese. Stir as it melts, add 1 tbsp.mayo, 3pieces of toasted bread(no crusts) ripped into crumbs, cayenne and black pepper,salt,tabaco,chili powder,more worsteshire and lemon juice. Gently fold in 1 can of lump crab. Grease small shallow dish, sprinkle w/ lemon juice and reg. bread crumbs, dot w/ butter. 350 degrees covered for 20min., uncover another 10min. or till top is toasty brown. This definitely made up for my missing flavor ingredients!! Could be eaten as a main dish even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a perennial Christmas favorite. We serve cool, without almonds. Use toasted thinly sliced baguettes spinkled with Old Bay for dipping! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Mix in a little grated white chedder and add some dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is amazing ! I used a spicy seafood sauce, & extra hot horseradish. Instead if onion, I used diced green onions. My husband loved it. We had it with tortilla chips, which worked really well. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was one great crab dip! I doubled the recipe for a large gathering and received rave reviews. I did make a few changes. I doubled the crab for a meatier dip, and added several tablesppons of Old Bay (I love that stuff!) to the mix. I also added a few tablespoons of lemon juice and a little extra cocktail sauce. I used a prepared creamy horseradish spead, as that's what I had on hand, and it worked very nicely. Instead of almonds (store was OUT?) I sprinkled Old Bay on top. I baked for about 50 minutes since my dip came out of the fridge and I doubled the recipe. Very nice, this will be a great go-to for football season and the holidays. Sincere thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This dip is a HUGE hit with my family potlucks. Alot of times I use chopped green onion instead of minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Wow...what an awesome dip! I made this twice in two days it was so good. I even sent what was leftover with a New Year's Eve guest, because he liked it so much! Thank you for the awesome and easy dip recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States