Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Phenomenal. Best cornbread ever. I used safflower oil, yellow cornmeal, and half the sugar - baked in a hot cast iron skillet. The "buttermilk" I must use is just 1 cup lactose-free milk + 1 Tbs white vinegar. I also added about a cup of corn kernels. It went really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved this - used yellow cornmeal and powdered buttermilk and water. Four stars instead of five because the baking time is way off; others seem to have had the same problem! Mine was a breath away from being overdone at not quite twenty minutes. Next time I'd start with 15, or lower the baking temp. Fabulous flavor, though, and just sweet enough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
pretty good just tweaked it a tiny bit used yellow cornmeal as i had that on hand. used splenda instead of sugar and had to make a homemade buttermilk 1tb lemon to 1 cup of milk . pretty good recipe I enjoy it goes good with chili. great served warm with butter and sugar free maple syrup. how we northern new yorkers love our johnny cake/cornbread. oh instead i used peanut oil also. pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GADGETFREAK1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an amazing cornbread recipe. Great texture and flavor. I made it for cornbread dressing, and now I will be making more for the family to eat because it is so good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Tastes like cake. Good.... but not like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelia58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I hate cornbread but this was so good. I took it to a party and everyone ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Used Splenda rather than sugar -- otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is excellent. My only concern is that 4 teaspoons of baking powder is a lot of sodium in addition to the baking soda and salt. I used 3 teaspoons and it cam out perfect. Next time I will try 2 and 1/2. I also used yellow cornmeal because I like the color. I like my cornbread with a rich corn flavor so I might play around with adding some pureed corn next time. As written, this recipe only took about 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is exactly the type of cornbread I want to have when sitting in front of a large bowl of beans & ham. Wonderful! I too made in preheated cast iron skillet - had 2T of butter melted in same and then used 1/8 cup corn oil in mix. I only use freshly milled coarse cornmeal and it gave a wonderfully rustic texture to bread. Just a hint of sweetness, so if you're in the mood for an ooegy-goooey sweet cornbread, this isn't the one - this is the lovely crumbly perch on the side of my bowl of soup, stew, or beans and enjoy type bread. Mine was perfectly cooked in 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of corn oil. I baked this in my cast iron skillet--I just added a couple tablespoons of butter to my cast iron skillet and let it melt in the skillet while the oven preheated before I added the batter. 350* for just about 30 minutes. This reminds me of MY grandmother's johnnycake which is such a wonderful feeling as I miss her terribly. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States