Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I had to make this gluten free, but it tasted really good. Just the right amount of sweetness and a little bit of butter. I could eat this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great middle of the road cornbread. Not too sweet. Not too plain. My wife and I were raised on old fashioned, non-sweet bread. For her I would leave out the sugar completely. Some of my family like the real sweet "Jiffy" type. For them I would increase the sugar. To feed a group where the taste may vary, this is an excellent recipe. Just slightly sweet. Great with chicken and dumplins. Great in a glass of cold milk. This is my go-to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Just okay. I prefer a denser corn bread. This was very crumbly. Iused yellow cornmeal. I have used a similar recipe that does not use baking soda so maybe next time I will omit, also may add a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made these just like the recipe stated and I must say they were a little lack luster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Phenomenal. Best cornbread ever. I used safflower oil, yellow cornmeal, and half the sugar - baked in a hot cast iron skillet. The "buttermilk" I must use is just 1 cup lactose-free milk + 1 Tbs white vinegar. I also added about a cup of corn kernels. It went really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved this - used yellow cornmeal and powdered buttermilk and water. Four stars instead of five because the baking time is way off; others seem to have had the same problem! Mine was a breath away from being overdone at not quite twenty minutes. Next time I'd start with 15, or lower the baking temp. Fabulous flavor, though, and just sweet enough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
pretty good just tweaked it a tiny bit used yellow cornmeal as i had that on hand. used splenda instead of sugar and had to make a homemade buttermilk 1tb lemon to 1 cup of milk . pretty good recipe I enjoy it goes good with chili. great served warm with butter and sugar free maple syrup. how we northern new yorkers love our johnny cake/cornbread. oh instead i used peanut oil also. pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GADGETFREAK1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an amazing cornbread recipe. Great texture and flavor. I made it for cornbread dressing, and now I will be making more for the family to eat because it is so good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Tastes like cake. Good.... but not like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelia58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I hate cornbread but this was so good. I took it to a party and everyone ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States