Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the very best cornbread recipe I've ever tried! 25 minutes was all that was required for baking, but I used a glass dish. It is sweet, light, and wonderful! My compliments to Great Grandmother Steinbeck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Borden, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
absolutely the best cornbread i've ever had. iused self-rising corn meal so i added only about 3 tsp of baking powder. i also used wheat flour in place of white, olive oil instead of corn oil, and milk with 1 Tbsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Nice light texture. I cooked this in a cast iron skillet in the oven for 20 minutes. I used milk/lemon juice instead of buttermilk. Not too sweet for us. This made a decent cornbread, a little grainy but not too much, overall a good solid recipe, but not my favorite one from here. Thanks Charles Kemp for giving us Great Grandmother's cornbread, this was perfect with our chili dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is an easy recipe that results in really great cornbread. Like others, I used yellow cornmeal, vegetable oil, and regular milk mixed with 1 T of lemon juice. I also had to use a metal pan, and found it was done in about 20 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Just what I was looking for. Changes made: whole wheat flour, yellow corn meal, and milk soured with lemon juice since I had no buttermilk, cooked in iron skillet. Great texture and good flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
if i could rate this cornbread with 20 stars i would. after a long search for a really good cornbread recipe i found this one. this is the best cornbread i have ever eaten. i used bacon grease instead of the corn oil and greased my skillet with it also. i didnt realize i had used self rising cornmeal instead of regular i don't know if adding the extra baking powder and soda made it better or not. i had always used nora mill's recipe (a wonderful grainery in helen georgia) but this was even better. thanks granny steinbeck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I substituted brown rice flour for the regular flour to make this recipe gluten free! It took about 25 minutes to cook. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this to go with dinner at bible study and it was a hit! Will certainly be making this again! The only change I made was to use yellow corn meal, as that was what I had on hand, and to use soured milk (1c. milk with 1-2Tbsp. vinegar)and veggie oil, not corn. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a great cornbread recipe. It came out fluffy and it was not sweet. I love it. I did not have buttermilk so I just used the milk I had on hand. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States