Great-Grandmother Steinbeck's Johnnycake (Cornbread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Simply wonderful, no changes need. (Well I did sub yellow cornmeal since I don't have white, but I'm sure white would have been just as fabulous!) Serve warm with a drizzle of honey for the best dadgummed cornbread you've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
delicious!i love cornbread !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
A little too crumbly, but that's great when you're crumbling it into chili or southern gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I like this recipe better than I do my own. I used 2 egg whites in place of the egg, replaced 1/4 cup of flour with whole wheat flour and used 3 T of applesauce and 1 T of oil. Even with the changes this came out soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the very best cornbread recipe I've ever tried! 25 minutes was all that was required for baking, but I used a glass dish. It is sweet, light, and wonderful! My compliments to Great Grandmother Steinbeck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Borden, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
absolutely the best cornbread i've ever had. iused self-rising corn meal so i added only about 3 tsp of baking powder. i also used wheat flour in place of white, olive oil instead of corn oil, and milk with 1 Tbsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Nice light texture. I cooked this in a cast iron skillet in the oven for 20 minutes. I used milk/lemon juice instead of buttermilk. Not too sweet for us. This made a decent cornbread, a little grainy but not too much, overall a good solid recipe, but not my favorite one from here. Thanks Charles Kemp for giving us Great Grandmother's cornbread, this was perfect with our chili dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is an easy recipe that results in really great cornbread. Like others, I used yellow cornmeal, vegetable oil, and regular milk mixed with 1 T of lemon juice. I also had to use a metal pan, and found it was done in about 20 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Just what I was looking for. Changes made: whole wheat flour, yellow corn meal, and milk soured with lemon juice since I had no buttermilk, cooked in iron skillet. Great texture and good flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States