Great-Grandmother Bubbie's Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These cookies turned out great!!! What is even better is that they were successfully made gluten free-not easy with most treats. I added one egg, decreased the flour by 2/3 to 3/4 cup (depending) and added 1 tsp. of xanthum gum to the dough. I kneaded thoroughly and chilled the dough overnight. Rolled the circles between two sheet or wax paper and used GF preserves as the filling. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENAPRIL

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
reduce the amount of filling by one cup, we had lots left over. a great cookie. roll out dough to be 1/8 inch rather than 1/4 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really good recipe. I used canola oil and white whole wheat flour--the dough was great. For the filling I made separate batches of apricot and prune, then put them in the blender with lemon juice and sugar, (no walnuts) so I had 2 different fillings, both good. I ended up with more than twice as much filling as I needed, so I guess I'll have to make more dough and eat more hamantaschen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aliza Finley
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I'd like to add: We make extra filling and eat it on yogurt or cereal or plain. Besides being tasty, it really helps... hem... move things along :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
SO good! For some reason, the dough was too soft to roll out right after mixing it all together, so I refrigerated it for a couple of hours. I had no problem at all rolling them out after that. The cookies are so delicious! They are so much more flavorful than other recipes that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
fabulous recipe! I didn't have any lemons, so I just doubled the orange zest and it was perfect. Also, I used the bread hook on my Kitchenaid to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a REALLY great recipe! The only thing I had a problem with is that my first round overflowed. The fix: only fill with ONE TEASPOON for a 2-3 inch round dough. Then, using a bowl of water, dip your finger in water, and moisten the boarder of the disc before forming the triangle. It helps the ends stick better. I also used store-bought jam, with no other issues. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
These were great. But for my neighbor down the hall, I'd be interested to know if commenter GreenApril meant gluten-free flour in her gluten-free version. Otherwise that recipe is -- obviously -- not gluten-free. Hope she sees this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillmichelle
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Fantastic, tasty dough! I mixed it w the dough hook attachment in my KitchenAid mixer. So easy! Scraped it from bowl onto Roul Pat mat & needed to sprinkle w some flour (used Organic pastry flour & raw sugar). I also added a drop of Young Living 'Citrus Fresh' essential oil to the egg mixture. Amazing flavor & I love cooking w my oils (I sell them as well). The dough rolled out so nicely. Didn't have time to make the filling so I used a combo of cherry & apricot Bon Maman preserves. I made the cookies thin so I baked them only 14-16 min per batch. Crunchy edges & soft inside. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillmichelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The dough never "came together." I added a few tablespoons more of oil until I could form it into a ball. Even so, the dough was so crumbly I couldn't roll it out. The cooking time for the fruit was inadequate. I cooked it for 5 minutes longer than suggested and it was still almost impossible to mash the fruit, especially the apricots. I ended up pushing lumps of dough into a muffin tin with my fingers and spooning the fruit into the center. The resulting "deconstructed Hamantaschen" tasted very good, but didn't look like much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States