Great Grandma's Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Really good and easy. I did not stuff as I just cooked a turkey breast so I moistened with chicken broth and baked in a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Was quite impressed with this recipe...so simple and yet so good. Substituted chopped apple for the celery and used fresh sage instead of poultry seasoning. I baked it in a greased dish for about 30 minutes at 350 - no need to add any additional liquids. The second time I made this I baked individual servings of the dressing in a well-greased muffin tin. A fun garnish for a platter of sliced turkey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
ok so this is the stuffing i decided to go for for thanks giving dinner. it was my first time making stuffing and of course stuffing the bird. before i even got to stuff the bird i knew that this was gonna be good. it smelted just the way i remembered it. i've been feeding my family stuffing that comes in a box previously and my husband hated stuffing lol but now he is very pleased and happy with this, thankjs for the simple but delicious recipe. u made me look good :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is how I make my stuffing except I saute celery with onions in butter and poultry seasoning. Then add it to bread and mix. Add turkey or chicken broth for extra flavor. It is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe with one exception, I thought that 3tsp. of salt was way too much and made it too salty. Next time I make it I will only use half that amount. Otherwise, the flavor was wonderful and the stuffing moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I'm giving this a three although my natural inclination is to give it a zero or 1 star because of the shortening. Use olive oil in this and it's four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This stuffing came out great! I used cubed homemade wheat bread, butter in place of the shortening, and chicken broth in place of the eggs. I stuffed an 8lb. chicken and had an 8x8 pan full of moist, flavorful stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I made it today to practice before Thanksgiving! A little too salty, and I will omit all the paprika next time. I don't like the coloring. I baked as is without any extra liquid for about 45 minutes. The oil from the onions was all it needed. Will definitely make for my Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This worked well as a side dish too if moistened with a little chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Thank you for your recipe. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States