Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Such yummy, puffy, melt in your mouth cookies! This has been the only sugar cookie recipe that I've used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I never take the time to review recipes, but this one was THAT GOOD!!! It was not the easiest dough to roll out and even though the recipe did not call for it, I did chill the dough. Sill had to add additional flour. They puffed up perfectly, are very tasty, and are now my top choice for sugar cookies! Kathleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This to me was a typical sugar cookie bland and boring, the recipe did not call for any where near the amount of flour I needed to even begin to roll these out for cut outs, I had to add 2 more cups for a total of 8 cups which would have made these VERY bland and tasteless (floury tasting), however being that I like a good spicy sugar cookie I added 2 tsp. ground cardamon, and double the nutmeg, I also added 1 tsp. almond extract as well as the vanilla. Turned out pretty good and average. Need to keep the rolled out dough to no less then 1/4" to have the nice fluffy thick cookie. Sorry will not make again, way to much flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook-Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Didsbury, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very fluffy! Never been able to make a cookie this fluffy before. I like them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe and had no problems, and the cookies baked up soft, high, and tender. I treated the dough more like pie crust and floured my board well; I turned the dough and dusted more flour until I could roll without sticking. Even the re-rolled scraps were tender. I used a tablespoon of vanilla because we love vanilla, and we frosted them with a simple butter-cream frosting tinted green for St. Patrick's Day. If you're looking for crisp cookies with a sparkle of sugar on top, this is not it. If you want a soft, cake-like cookie, here you are. The vanilla and nutmeg compliment it well. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Guare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These cookies are wonderful. I'm about to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I really liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I had a gallon of sour milk so I was looking for recipe options to use it up. We stumbled on this one! I am not normally a cookie eater but I made these and then froze them. They taste just as good frozen as they did freshly made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stahract

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is it! The recipe I've been searching for! I know everyone's taste in sugar cookies is different, but I love those soft Lofthouse sugar cookies, and wanted something like that I could make at home. This is the one! The one thing I noticed is they are easier to decorate when you cut them into smaller shapes. I had a mix of bigger and smaller cookie cutters, and the cookies are so incredibly soft that the larger cookies were a bit hard to handle. Delicious though! And totally easy to make. I sometimes think the simple approach is the best, as in this case. I wish I had an excuse to make them again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States