Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
Great tasting cookie! The nutmeg gives this cookie a great new twist on the traditional sugar cookie. It is fine to leave out if you are not a nutmeg fan as well. I like the rise from these cookies and cover with royal icing as well. A great recipe to use for home made "Black & Whites" as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I really liked this sugar cookie recipe because there is no need to chill the dough, which helps when children are impatient to get to the cookie cutting! The cookies really do puff up wonderfully and they are almost cakelike and not too sweet -- really great for icing however you like. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Just like my grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Great Cookies. I love these they are perfect and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
These are the best cookies I have ever tasted. they are nice & puffy, soft & Chewy. They litterally melt in your mouth. My kids Love these ( my kids are very picky when it comes to what they eat) Great Recipie!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
These are great, I've made them for a couple of parties and there is NEVER any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This recipe did take time to mix, but it was well worth it! I have never had a sugar cookie puff up like this one and it tastes great warm, cool, and/or decorated! My husband has never liked my sugar cookies as they always went flat and crispy, but not this one; he loved it! My kids can't wait to take them to school for their Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I have been searching for a sugar cookie recipe that would produce a soft cookie that was easy to decorate--this is it! It made 85 cookies because sometimes I rolled the dough thinner. The nutmeg gives it the perfect kick. I used 1 cup sour cream instead of sour milk. I frosted them with "Buttercream Icing" from this site and they turned out perfect. I stored about half of the cookies in a Rubbermaid container for several days and they were still fresh, same with the frosting...Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is simply the best sugar cookie recipe around! My local bakery makes the best sugar cookies ever, and it looks like I found their recipe. I have made these 3 times in 1 month, I cant keep them around. I ran out of nutmeg and used a little cinnamon and cloves instead, it was great!(but better with the nutmeg) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
These made wonderful, stay-soft sugar cookies! We made Valentine cookies over the weekend and this is by far the best sugar cookie recipe ever. Very light, not too sweet, cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States