Great Grandad's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I see there has been some negativity about this recipe. One said they didnt puff up enough. One said they were too bland, and tasted too much like flour. I found that if you rolled them too thin they didnt puff up they ended up flat, but if you rolled them thick enough they turn out fine. As far as taste I just added a bit more vanilla then it asked for and it was fine. As far as tasting too much like flour I can see that happening if you use the four cups and add the whole other two, or as much as recipe submitter has to use when she makes them due to her humidity. I used the four in the beginning but only used one cup at the end. I left my dough a little tacky but made somewhat of a ball out of it while tacky, then dipped the ball all sides into some flour that I had on the table, worked it in a bit then rolled out on floured surface. That seemed to help out with the over flouring. So for me I liked this recipe and it turned out great, cooking is all about experimenting and tweaking till you get it just the way you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Yummy! These definately did puff. I was amazed. I have been searching for a fluffy cake like cookie and this is it!! I actually sat in front of the oven and watched them puff. They taste great, better with frosting. Totally easy, I did not even follow the recipe perfectly! I used butter instead of shortening, regular milk instead of sour and cinnamon instead of nutmeg! They key is to add flour, but just enought to keep from sticking to the table and not to roll them too thin, then they come out perfect, melt in your mouth soft!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I have been searching for a sugar cookie recipe that would produce a soft cookie that was easy to decorate--this is it! It made 85 cookies because sometimes I rolled the dough thinner. The nutmeg gives it the perfect kick. I used 1 cup sour cream instead of sour milk. I frosted them with "Buttercream Icing" from this site and they turned out perfect. I stored about half of the cookies in a Rubbermaid container for several days and they were still fresh, same with the frosting...Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
These cookies are the BEST! They taste exactly like Lofthouse Cookies! (they might be regional, sorry if you haven't had them) I am throwing away all of my other sugar cookie recipes for this one! Everyone I gave them to called me back to tell me how awesome they are. I didn't change a thing except I had to add more flour to roll them out...I didn't even have a rolling pin either I just patted them out with my hands and smoothed them over. Anyone who says they had a problem with the dough being sticky or bland are apparently not very good bakers and/or are .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Wonderful, soft and yummy cookies! I have waited for a recipe like this. They puff up just right and have just the perfect hint of flavoring. You should have no problem with these cookies at all,, just follow the recipe, and remember to use updated ingredients, not out of date stuff, as u will always have a problem. Great and thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good. You can make them without rolling out, also. Add just enough flour that they will hold their shape a little better. Drop a tablespoon of dough in a bowl of sugar. Roll in a ball and drop on paper lined pan. They bake up nice and puffy with crispy outside and soft, cakey inside. Use half butter with the shortening and add twice the amount of vanilla for richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
These made wonderful, stay-soft sugar cookies! We made Valentine cookies over the weekend and this is by far the best sugar cookie recipe ever. Very light, not too sweet, cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is simply the best sugar cookie recipe around! My local bakery makes the best sugar cookies ever, and it looks like I found their recipe. I have made these 3 times in 1 month, I cant keep them around. I ran out of nutmeg and used a little cinnamon and cloves instead, it was great!(but better with the nutmeg) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I had to add 4 extra cups to even make the dough roll-able and work-able. Even still it stuck to my counter and cookie cutters. After baking, they looked great. Nice and puffy, but after biting into one, they are tasteless. They taste like flour and not much else. I wasted my time on this and my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmbartz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This went over BIG with my daycare. We had fun making and eating them. we used the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe to decorate. Just the right combo. not too sweet. I think next time I'll use half butter, half shortning and some almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States